Black Bottom Cupcakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Excellant
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
I have used this recipe for over a year now and forgot to rate it!!! Maybe I was in such a state of euphoria from how great these are and my brain wasn't working!! Love these Love these Love these!! I just made them and can never get the ratio of cupcake holders right with the amount of batter I have. Either way, I double the recipe and using standard sized cupcake pans, I was able to get 31. So if you're trying to do the standard 24, you might want to double it and enjoy the extras. Thanks a ton for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claire Wood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: White Hall, Maryland, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly except for the mini chips! I used regular because that is what I had on hand. I did add a little instant expresso for the enhancement ofthe chocolate and they were wonderful! The only made 16 and I did have filling left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
If you find the filling too runny you may want to omit the egg. I've made this recipe for years at a local coffee shop and never added an egg to the filling. These are one of my customers favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Are they supposed to be crunchy on top? I got 12 large cupcakes and used all the filling. I filled the cups 2/3 full though, not the 1/3 as stated int he recipe. Despite their bigger size, they were done in 27 min--and crispy on top baked on the middle rack of oven. Super good cupcake though, and I like what the mini chips add to the usual filling. I used the coffee instead of water as suggested by other reviewers, and all else was as listed. Thanks for sharing! Next time I will try double the cake recipe for the same amount of filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Camp Lejeune, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
EXCELLENT! The dollop of cream cheese mixture wasn't enough, I had half the bowl left. So I just piled it on and they turned out awesome! They are even better refrigerated and eaten cold. Almost like fudge. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by busymomof5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
This is the best cream cheese cupcake recipe I have found. Everyone who has tried them has fallen in love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shinjiangnicole
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
These are delicious (and I mean delicious), but there were a few problems for me: 1. I ended up with more chocolate batter than the cream cheese mixture. I ended up swirling whatever remains of the cream cheese I could scrape from the bowl into the chocolate mixture and baking it. The small cake tasted awesome dusted with powdered sugar. 2. I used silicone cupcake cups, which might have caused the problem, because my cake batter ended up cooking very slowly, so the cream cheese was turning golden brown when the cake finally turned into a brownie-like texture. 3. I used 3 tablespoons of batter and 2 tablespoons of the cream cheese. 4. I used regular chocolate chips. They tasted awesome after refrigerating, there were chunks of chocolate in them (yum!). 5. Use light cream cheese. Each cupcake is a whopping 171 calories. There's no taste difference. Everyone loved these cupcakes. I couldn't stop eating them either. Time to hit the gym.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
These cupcakes are great. I've made them five different time and they are always a hit. This recipe barely has enough for 24 cupcakes but it works. I've also made just 12 using the same amount. The cupcakes turn out giant but the cake engulfs the cream center and it's delicious either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
So yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jewelz35

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 582) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Vegan Cupcakes

Dairy-free cupcakes flavored with vanilla extract and coconut oil.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States