Black Bottom Cupcakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Was very moist and delicious. Only cooked it for 20 minutes, otherwise it would have been overcooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Great recipe. If you want to dress them up with frosting, try Rick's Buttercream, (using half the recipe). Follow reader's suggestions and use half butter, half shortening. Beat at least 10 minutes on high. Makes a light, not to sweet, perfect compliment to these. Springle some colored sugar or springles on them and they look beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Made this for my girlfriend because her mom would make this when she was little. It was no exactly how her mom made it but she loved it. The first batch was too crunchy but I fixed it by leaving it less time. She loved it and my kids too. Loved that it wasn't too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
This were an awesome addition to my collection of sweet desserts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rsteve3

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Long Branch, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
These are pretty good. I made no changes the first time i made them and i was a little disappointed. The middle was not gooey at all. I made them again and omitted the egg, warmed the cream cheese and baked for 23 minutes. I could actually taste the cream cheese then. My niece thinks the cake portion could be sweeter but i thought they were fine. They are much better cold, don't eat them right out of the oven. they are richer once the chocolate chips set up again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Here is my .02 cents, I live in colorado. The high altitude doesn't work for the cake recipe. Use a devils food cake mix and follow high altitude directions. Make sure the cream cheese AND egg are at room temp and do not over-mix. I mix by hand to ensure this doesn't happen. My cream cheese center is never runny and always sinks to the bottom. some of the pictures posted look horrible and I have never had a problem with center not sinking, doing it my way. The top is only cake, never ANY cream cheese visible. It is always a surprise when people bite into them. I also frost with either chocolate ganache or cream cheese frosting. These cupcakes will never be beat. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
They were amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Excellant
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
I have used this recipe for over a year now and forgot to rate it!!! Maybe I was in such a state of euphoria from how great these are and my brain wasn't working!! Love these Love these Love these!! I just made them and can never get the ratio of cupcake holders right with the amount of batter I have. Either way, I double the recipe and using standard sized cupcake pans, I was able to get 31. So if you're trying to do the standard 24, you might want to double it and enjoy the extras. Thanks a ton for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claire Wood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: White Hall, Maryland, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly except for the mini chips! I used regular because that is what I had on hand. I did add a little instant expresso for the enhancement ofthe chocolate and they were wonderful! The only made 16 and I did have filling left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 579) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Ice Cream Cone Cupcakes

See how to make super-fun ice cream cone cupcakes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States