Black Bottom Cupcakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
We just weren't crazy about these. They were a bit on the dry side. Despite the chocolate chips, my kids wouldn't touch them after one taste which was disappointing. They were much better warm than they were the next day but even then they just didn't have a whole lot of taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda Jay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden Grove, California, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I've made this several times and it's always a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CSANGEL
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
The wife of a guy at work makes cupcakes like this and they are so good that he uses them to bribe employees. It works! :) While I was on mat leave I decided to look for a recipe and make my own. They turned out so amazing. Even my non-sweet loving partner is completely addicted and begs me to make them regularly. Notes - I upped the cocoa as suggested. I find that the cake mix makes exactly 12 good size cupcakes and the cream cheese filling will do 24 so I always double the cake mix. If you are having an issue getting the cream cheese to 'sink' try adding a bit more water to the batter to make it just a bit runnier. I had to do this because of the extra cocoa. I top these with Cream Cheese Frosting II from this site and they are incredibly decadent. Oh, and I always skip the chocolate chips. I like my cupcakes soft. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
These turned out quite nicely. I made a few minor adjustments: added 1 tsp. vanilla to the cream cheese mixture, substituted stevia for half the sugar in the dry mixture, increased cocoa powder to 1/3 cup, added 1 tsp. instant coffee granules to dry mix and subbed in a little leftover coffee for part of the water, and used white vinegar instead of cider vinegar. I used a jumbo muffin tin, greased it and dusted the bottoms of the cups with cocoa powder, and all the cupcakes came out of the pan cleanly after cooling for a few minutes. They only needed 20 minutes in the oven. It made 12 large cupcakes, with a tiny bit of batter and a lot of filling remaining (I baked the leftovers in a couple ramekins).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
This recipe is great, but I do agree that there is way too much of the cream cheese mixture. Also, i've done it using this cake recipe as well as once using a box mix, and the results were drastically different. DO NOT use the box mix. All of the cream cheese sinks into the cake because the cake is too light. The cake recipe here is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nbradr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Allendale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Very yummy! I've made these before and alternate between the cake recipe and boxed cake mix, depending on how much time I want to spend measuring and mixing. I also have no cream cheese mix peaking out and frost with vanilla or chocolate frosting. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by butterflymomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
This recipe makes the perfect Black Bottom cupcakes, as long as you observe one very important alteration. The amount of cocoa powder that the recipe calls for makes very mild, not very chocolatey, tan-bottomed cupcakes. I upped the cocoa to 3/4 of a cup and they are right on the money. With that minor change in place, look no further for the cupcakes of your dreams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
Follow the recipe and DO not short cut and use a cake mix. My grandma made these all of the time when I was little and I was craving some, but short on time so used boxed mix. Not even remotely close to the way they are supposed to turn out. Follow the recipe n they are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Here are the problems I had with the recipe: The cupcakes sink a lot. The recipe does not yield anywhere near what it says. The muffin tins should probably be filled at least half way (I had quite a few that were sunk about 1/4 inch bellow the paper). It's not a good recipe for birthday cupcakes. They were okay at best as far as taste but some of them stuck to the paper and some of them didn't- not sure what the difference was. I followed the recipe exactly plus I read the reviews and heeded the advice. They were okay but not anything special. I had extra cream cheese mixture left over so maybe I didn't put enough filling in the cupcakes but I put about a tablespoon in each which seemed to be a lot. If I was going to remake them I would have doubled the recipe- I got about 29 cupcakes making 1 1/2 times the recipe but like I said some of the cupcakes were small so I think this recipe yields more like 18 cupcakes or fewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 588) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Chocolate Beer Cupcakes with Whiskey Filling

Stout in the batter, whiskey in the chocolate filling, Irish cream in the icing!

Vegan Cupcakes

Dairy-free cupcakes flavored with vanilla extract and coconut oil.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States