Black Bottom Cupcakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
I would not make these again.they were ok every one thought I used a cake mix.they were too much trouble for the the outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Simple and easy with no need for icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
We just weren't crazy about these. They were a bit on the dry side. Despite the chocolate chips, my kids wouldn't touch them after one taste which was disappointing. They were much better warm than they were the next day but even then they just didn't have a whole lot of taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda Jay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden Grove, California, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I've made this several times and it's always a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CSANGEL
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
The wife of a guy at work makes cupcakes like this and they are so good that he uses them to bribe employees. It works! :) While I was on mat leave I decided to look for a recipe and make my own. They turned out so amazing. Even my non-sweet loving partner is completely addicted and begs me to make them regularly. Notes - I upped the cocoa as suggested. I find that the cake mix makes exactly 12 good size cupcakes and the cream cheese filling will do 24 so I always double the cake mix. If you are having an issue getting the cream cheese to 'sink' try adding a bit more water to the batter to make it just a bit runnier. I had to do this because of the extra cocoa. I top these with Cream Cheese Frosting II from this site and they are incredibly decadent. Oh, and I always skip the chocolate chips. I like my cupcakes soft. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
These turned out quite nicely. I made a few minor adjustments: added 1 tsp. vanilla to the cream cheese mixture, substituted stevia for half the sugar in the dry mixture, increased cocoa powder to 1/3 cup, added 1 tsp. instant coffee granules to dry mix and subbed in a little leftover coffee for part of the water, and used white vinegar instead of cider vinegar. I used a jumbo muffin tin, greased it and dusted the bottoms of the cups with cocoa powder, and all the cupcakes came out of the pan cleanly after cooling for a few minutes. They only needed 20 minutes in the oven. It made 12 large cupcakes, with a tiny bit of batter and a lot of filling remaining (I baked the leftovers in a couple ramekins).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
This recipe is great, but I do agree that there is way too much of the cream cheese mixture. Also, i've done it using this cake recipe as well as once using a box mix, and the results were drastically different. DO NOT use the box mix. All of the cream cheese sinks into the cake because the cake is too light. The cake recipe here is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nbradr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Allendale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Very yummy! I've made these before and alternate between the cake recipe and boxed cake mix, depending on how much time I want to spend measuring and mixing. I also have no cream cheese mix peaking out and frost with vanilla or chocolate frosting. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by butterflymomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
This recipe makes the perfect Black Bottom cupcakes, as long as you observe one very important alteration. The amount of cocoa powder that the recipe calls for makes very mild, not very chocolatey, tan-bottomed cupcakes. I upped the cocoa to 3/4 of a cup and they are right on the money. With that minor change in place, look no further for the cupcakes of your dreams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 580) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Ice Cream Cone Cupcakes

See how to make super-fun ice cream cone cupcakes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States