Black Bottom Cupcakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
The cream cheese part was pretty good, but the chocolate cake was lacking both in flavor and texture. Dry, bland cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Delicious and easy recipe! I added vanilla to the filling and a teaspoon instant coffee to the water. Mine were done in 15 minutes instead of 25 minutes. These were delicious and so moist. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
I've made these at least 20 times now. Always perfect, everyone always devours them. Don't over cook. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Ashford

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
This recipe is mmmm mmmmm good!! The only changes I made was to add half a teaspoon of vanilla to the filling and a spoon of instant coffee to the water. 20 minutes they were done. I also got 15 cupcakes out of this recipe, but then I like mine tall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah “Sam” Alexandra
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
This is BY FAR my favorite Black Bottom Cupcake recipe! And this is the one that has won over my best friend's in laws and family from Australia as well as my boyfriends out of town family. I love making these! Upon the advice of other bakers, I too switch the water for very strongly steeped coffee. I also shake the chocolate chips in flour before putting them in to the batter because they don't sink straight to the bottom that way. They tend to stay more toward the middle and top. I love making a coffee infused cream cheese icing for these too! It's always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I have made these for years. MOST IMPORTANT!! ONLY use Philadelphia Cream cheese. I have used off brands, low fat, fat free. All will get runny and not give you the same result. A few walnuts or pecans make them extra special. Once I even try icing them. Too much. Wouldn't recommend. They never last long!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
These are GREAT! I use the tiny cupcake liners and only bake for about 8-9 minutes. I put the batter and cream cheese mixture in pastry bags (or ziplocks with a tiny bit of the corner clipped off) to make filling those little cupcake liners easier. I also like to put them in the fridge and eat them cold. MMM....MMMM. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ruther Glen, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Yummy combination of chocolate and cheesecake--doesn't get any better! I always have a lot of the cheesecake mixture left over when I follow this recipe, so I now double the chocolate cake portion of this recipe and follow the cheesecake portion as is. This ratio works perfectly for me (no leftovers). When baking in mini muffin tins I bake at 350 degrees for 17 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Whitehlg
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
This is a great recipe! Don't substitute the lower fat cream cheese, and do use a good chocolate. Use all of the cream cheese mixture. I used to have a lot left over, but now I'll add some additional cream cheese/ chocolate chip mixture to each one until it 's all used. Mine are usually baked within 15 minutes. They also stay nice for a week, if covered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lehighton, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
These are killer! Next time I'll use a bigger "dollop" of the cheese filling. I used dark cocoa instead of the regular...WOW
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaclynn G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Perry Hall, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 582) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Vegan Cupcakes

Dairy-free cupcakes flavored with vanilla extract and coconut oil.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States