Black Bottom Cupcakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
One of our favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orleans, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
This is incredible. The recipe was easy to follow and did not take much time at all. I did not put the chips into the filling, but sprinkled them on top before baking. I also put the cream cheese filling into a pastry bag and piped it onto the center of the cupcake to make things go a little quicker and it seemed to make less of a mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
i have these in the oven as i'm typing this so i will update/revise my review afterwards. here are the subs/revisions that i made> light cream cheese (that's what i had on hand) rather than regular cream cheese, i didn't have a full cup of mini choc chips so i supplemented with a handful of regular size choc chips, rather than 1 cup water i used 1/2 cup coffee and 1/2 cup water, and lastly i didn't have cider vinegar so i used white wine vinegar. fingers crossed that they turn out! so far so good... UPDATE: when making the filling i was a little worried because it was a little thin (the recipe says until "light and fluffy" and mine was anything but!). i'm not sure if this is because i had my cream cheese at room temp or if it was because i used light cream cheese? regardless, they turned out perfect! the filling settled right in the middle of the cupcake. i had never had black bottom cupcakes before but they sounded delicious so i thought i'd try. to be honest they are very good, but so are plain cupcakes. i think i might try adding something to the filling to make it more flavorful (jam?). i would give this 4 1/2 stars if i could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Awesome cupcakes. I didn't have any cider vinegar so instead used a 1.5 teaspoons of balsamic vinegar which was great. I did not use salt in the cream cheese mixture, it didn't need it. I used about 2 teaspoons of vanilla rather than one. I never know which cocoa to use because they all taste different. I used Nestle cocoa and it worked perfectly. Thank you for the wonderful dessert item.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manderz

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Well, I'm just eating my second cupcake right now. The only changes in the recipe that I made was adding a little more baking cocoa and a teaspoon extra of vanilla. The changes I wish I had made were to add milk chocolate chips instead of semi-sweet. Since the cocoa is a dark, bitter chocolate...adding the milk chocolate chips would have added much more depth to the chocolate flavors. I always mix semi-sweet and milk chips in cookies for that exact reason and I wish I had thought of it in making these cupcakes. I didn't use cupcake liners but rather just generously sprayed the pan with cooking spray and they popped out pretty easily. I baked these cupcakes for 21 minutes. Any longer and they would have been over cooked or burned. For me they made exactly 18 regular sized cupcakes. There was a little extra filling but I made my center dollops a little larger to use more of it up which didn't affect the cupcakes themselves. I think these are decent cupcakes. Nothing super exciting. I think reviewers who added berries or jam were probably onto something good. They aren't the most attractive cupcakes in the world but topping them with a light cream frosting might help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYKIDSMOM5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Morgan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
I've been making cupcakes for coworkers on a weekly basis when I stumbled across this recipe. I was in need of a new idea so I gave it a shot. I received a round of applause along with hugs and kudos. They turned out amazing and the presentation was spectacular. I would highly recommend them and make them again in a heartbeat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Totaly Smert
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
I changed only two things. Used 1/3 cup of cocoa powder because it wasn't chocolaty enough for my taste, and I omitted the chocolate chips in the cream cheese filling. They were AMAZING. Mine baked about 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Totaly Smert

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
These were fantastic! I made a single batch of chocolate, but will do a double batch next time. I had a lot of cream cheese mixture left over. My husband ate 11 out of 12 of them in one night...these are a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Trageser

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
I didn't add the salt and used 1/3 less fat cream cheese. Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Delicious! Made exactly as recipe says and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Saskatchewan, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 587) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Chocolate Beer Cupcakes with Whiskey Filling

Stout in the batter, whiskey in the chocolate filling, Irish cream in the icing!

Vegan Cupcakes

Dairy-free cupcakes flavored with vanilla extract and coconut oil.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States