Black Bottom Cupcakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
When I came across this recipe yesterday, my immediate thought was - whay have I never made these?! I love chocolate, I love cream cheese - these would be the perfect cupcake combination. And they are ~ My daughter says these are the best cupcakes ever. I was worried about the vinegar in them because the batter had a definite vinegar scent to it, but the baked cupcakes are delicious - and no vinegar taste. These baked up very nicely and I just drizzled them with a chocolate glaze to finish. Thanks for a spectacular cupcake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
I kind of wish there was 4.5 stars. I think this recipe is very good, but the chocolate is just a TAD dry, I think maybe adding a few egg whites folded in would moisten it up a bit, so it is a little more like souffle. I will try this next time. The cream cheese mixture is very good and offsets the dryness of the chocolate cake part. I will make more cream cheese for the top next time as well and do more like 1/2 and 1/2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: White Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
I've made these cupcakes many times to rave reviews. The only thing I do differently is use plain white vinegar instead of cider vinegar and coffee instead of water (it enhances the chocolate flavor, doesn't make the cake taste like coffee). I find it helps to use a plastic storage bag with a corner snipped off to fill the cupcakes with the cream cheese mixture. Excellent recipe. (I've doubled the cupcake recipe and made a layer cake with it..outstanding for a batter that contains no eggs or dairy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
One of our favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orleans, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
This is incredible. The recipe was easy to follow and did not take much time at all. I did not put the chips into the filling, but sprinkled them on top before baking. I also put the cream cheese filling into a pastry bag and piped it onto the center of the cupcake to make things go a little quicker and it seemed to make less of a mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
i have these in the oven as i'm typing this so i will update/revise my review afterwards. here are the subs/revisions that i made> light cream cheese (that's what i had on hand) rather than regular cream cheese, i didn't have a full cup of mini choc chips so i supplemented with a handful of regular size choc chips, rather than 1 cup water i used 1/2 cup coffee and 1/2 cup water, and lastly i didn't have cider vinegar so i used white wine vinegar. fingers crossed that they turn out! so far so good... UPDATE: when making the filling i was a little worried because it was a little thin (the recipe says until "light and fluffy" and mine was anything but!). i'm not sure if this is because i had my cream cheese at room temp or if it was because i used light cream cheese? regardless, they turned out perfect! the filling settled right in the middle of the cupcake. i had never had black bottom cupcakes before but they sounded delicious so i thought i'd try. to be honest they are very good, but so are plain cupcakes. i think i might try adding something to the filling to make it more flavorful (jam?). i would give this 4 1/2 stars if i could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Awesome cupcakes. I didn't have any cider vinegar so instead used a 1.5 teaspoons of balsamic vinegar which was great. I did not use salt in the cream cheese mixture, it didn't need it. I used about 2 teaspoons of vanilla rather than one. I never know which cocoa to use because they all taste different. I used Nestle cocoa and it worked perfectly. Thank you for the wonderful dessert item.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manderz

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Well, I'm just eating my second cupcake right now. The only changes in the recipe that I made was adding a little more baking cocoa and a teaspoon extra of vanilla. The changes I wish I had made were to add milk chocolate chips instead of semi-sweet. Since the cocoa is a dark, bitter chocolate...adding the milk chocolate chips would have added much more depth to the chocolate flavors. I always mix semi-sweet and milk chips in cookies for that exact reason and I wish I had thought of it in making these cupcakes. I didn't use cupcake liners but rather just generously sprayed the pan with cooking spray and they popped out pretty easily. I baked these cupcakes for 21 minutes. Any longer and they would have been over cooked or burned. For me they made exactly 18 regular sized cupcakes. There was a little extra filling but I made my center dollops a little larger to use more of it up which didn't affect the cupcakes themselves. I think these are decent cupcakes. Nothing super exciting. I think reviewers who added berries or jam were probably onto something good. They aren't the most attractive cupcakes in the world but topping them with a light cream frosting might help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYKIDSMOM5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Morgan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
I've been making cupcakes for coworkers on a weekly basis when I stumbled across this recipe. I was in need of a new idea so I gave it a shot. I received a round of applause along with hugs and kudos. They turned out amazing and the presentation was spectacular. I would highly recommend them and make them again in a heartbeat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Totaly Smert
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
I changed only two things. Used 1/3 cup of cocoa powder because it wasn't chocolaty enough for my taste, and I omitted the chocolate chips in the cream cheese filling. They were AMAZING. Mine baked about 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Totaly Smert

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 580) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Ice Cream Cone Cupcakes

See how to make super-fun ice cream cone cupcakes!

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States