Black Bottom Cupcakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Very good and easy to make and take for a pot luck, football game, picnic. Because they dont have frosting, they travel well, and can be made a day ahead since they taste better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julieka

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Nummy nummy nummyyy. We added strawberries before putting the cream cheese dollup. We made cream cheese icing..Deeee-licious to dip the extra strawberries in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Three words: Om nom nom. I used dark chocolate chunks instead of mini chips because the only brand of mini chips available was Nestle (booooo). They gave the cupcake a more sophisticated and less sugary taste. I also used a skewer to swirl the two batters a bit before baking, giving the top a pretty marble finish. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Made exactly as the recipe stated and they are GREAT! I did microwave the cream cheese for 19 seconds to soften, the cream cheese batter after mixing was not runny for me, it thickened up even more after sitting for 20 minutes (between batches, only have 1 muffin tin). The cake batter was very thin looking, I was concerned but they came out great! Filled closer to half full and got 17 cupcakes + 1 runt LOL! Thanks for the great recipe, these ingredients are usually something I always have on hand so that's a plus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri Rice Cornell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
i don't know what i did wrong, but these did not turn out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
The chocolate cake would be GREAT on it's own...I used 1 C. all purpose flour + 1/2 C. wheat flour. And 1/2 C. EACH of Splenda and White Sugar. Upped the cocoa to 1/3 C.and only used 1/4 t. Salt along with the 1 t. baking soda. I looked at the cream cheese mixture as a substitution for frosting - we could not really tell the mini chocolate chips were in it though:( I omitted the salt and added 1/2 t. Vanilla Extract in the cream cheese mixture and it turned out fine. Sprayed JUMBO muffin tins (it made 10) and baked for 35 minutes until the cream cheese is JUST beginning to brown a bit. We ate a couple hot out of the oven sinced they smelled soooooo good & will be interested to see how they are after a couple of days as well - IF they make it that long :0) THIS IS ONE I WILL MAKE AGAIN & AGAIN !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grandma Barb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brighton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Thanks alot for the great recipe. I got exactly 8oz of expired cream cheese and don't know what to do as it hasn't gone bad until I got this site. Bake this today and it was excellent!! I follow exactly the instruction but I only get 5 cupcakes n too much cream cheese. Immediately I make another batch but i'm out of vanilla essence. I grate 2 lemon zest instead. I think I have to change my measuring cup as the amount is incorrect. Oh ya and I used apple cider vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catherine_jeff

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
These were perfect ! ! ! I made MINI CUPCAKES and adjusted the time to only 15 minutes. If you are making mini's make sure to cut down the recipe or you will have way to much batter! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASPIRING RAE
Home Town: North Pole, Alaska, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
The chocolate cupcake part was amazing. The cheesecake was a little unimpressive, but i make cheesecake all the time so im biased. overall, great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Awesome cupcakes, and really easy to make! I used Ghiradelli unsweetened cocoa and Ghiradelli 60% dark choc chips instead because I'm not a milk chocolate fan, and they came out fantastic! Big hit at my son's preschool for a surprise birthday party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 587) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Chocolate Beer Cupcakes with Whiskey Filling

Stout in the batter, whiskey in the chocolate filling, Irish cream in the icing!

Vegan Cupcakes

Dairy-free cupcakes flavored with vanilla extract and coconut oil.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States