Black Bottom Cupcakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
I have made this recipe many times. It's easy to follow and turns out every time. I substitute 2/3 of the oil called for with apple sauce, which makes them more moist and light. Agree with another reviewer that the cream cheese has to be soft. I leave it sitting on top of my stove while pre-heating for several minutes and that does the trick. If you prefer a less-sweet taste, you can get away with less sugar in the filling and batter and they are still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
I made it today, and man, are they good! I doubled the batch, and tweaked ever it ever so much...split a vanilla pod and added 2 t. Instant coffee. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
I used Devil's food cake mix and it came out very good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Danalee Losey
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
My mother used to make these and I finally made them myself for the first time tonight. The only thing I did differently was omit the 1/8 teaspoon of salt for the filling. My cupcakes were cooked in 20 minutes, and they came out looking and tasting pretty awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danalee Losey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Finally a blackbottom cupcake that turns out wonderful!!! Be careful not to over mix the cream cheese mixture, I sort of blended it with a spatula and it came out nice and fluffy instead of separated with a previous recipe. They look beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
My husband requested cupcakes and I had all of the ingredients for this recipe so I gave it a whirl. He loved them, so I'll be making them again. I substituted 1/2 of the water for a blend of milk and coffee in the batter. Coffee always compliments chocolate flavor. I was forced to used regular sized chocolate chips, didn't have the mini ones, but they turned out great. In fact, I liked the larger burst of chocolate in the filling. Reduced the recipe serving size to "18" and got a perfect 12 cupcakes...I like to fill my muffin pans enough to get a healthy sized cupcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mcorson1101
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
super easy to make and I think it genuinely taste fantastic just the way the recipe is written! Highly recommend this even to people who can't bake that is how easy and yummy this recipe is! Thank you so much for posting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcorson1101

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I really love these. So moist, rich, and super easy. Here's a great tip; I used a large cookie scoop to transfer the batter to the cupcake liners and it came out to exactly 24, evenly filled cupcakes. Then I used a small cookie scoop to top the batter with the cream cheese mixture right in the center. They came out perfectly and the cream cheese mixture sunk into the batter as intended. Happy baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
My kids find these so fascinating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BethAnn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Epworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
These are really good. The most important thing I have learned is that you should COOK THEM THE DAY BEFORE you eat them. For some strange reason, they taste 10X better the next day. I make them in cupcake and regular layer circle cake. I also only bake them for 25 min....seems to be fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D.j. Glass

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 587) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Chocolate Beer Cupcakes with Whiskey Filling

Stout in the batter, whiskey in the chocolate filling, Irish cream in the icing!

Vegan Cupcakes

Dairy-free cupcakes flavored with vanilla extract and coconut oil.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States