Black Bottom Cupcakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Are they supposed to be crunchy on top? I got 12 large cupcakes and used all the filling. I filled the cups 2/3 full though, not the 1/3 as stated int he recipe. Despite their bigger size, they were done in 27 min--and crispy on top baked on the middle rack of oven. Super good cupcake though, and I like what the mini chips add to the usual filling. I used the coffee instead of water as suggested by other reviewers, and all else was as listed. Thanks for sharing! Next time I will try double the cake recipe for the same amount of filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Camp Lejeune, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
EXCELLENT! The dollop of cream cheese mixture wasn't enough, I had half the bowl left. So I just piled it on and they turned out awesome! They are even better refrigerated and eaten cold. Almost like fudge. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by busymomof5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
This is the best cream cheese cupcake recipe I have found. Everyone who has tried them has fallen in love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shinjiangnicole
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
These are delicious (and I mean delicious), but there were a few problems for me: 1. I ended up with more chocolate batter than the cream cheese mixture. I ended up swirling whatever remains of the cream cheese I could scrape from the bowl into the chocolate mixture and baking it. The small cake tasted awesome dusted with powdered sugar. 2. I used silicone cupcake cups, which might have caused the problem, because my cake batter ended up cooking very slowly, so the cream cheese was turning golden brown when the cake finally turned into a brownie-like texture. 3. I used 3 tablespoons of batter and 2 tablespoons of the cream cheese. 4. I used regular chocolate chips. They tasted awesome after refrigerating, there were chunks of chocolate in them (yum!). 5. Use light cream cheese. Each cupcake is a whopping 171 calories. There's no taste difference. Everyone loved these cupcakes. I couldn't stop eating them either. Time to hit the gym.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
These cupcakes are great. I've made them five different time and they are always a hit. This recipe barely has enough for 24 cupcakes but it works. I've also made just 12 using the same amount. The cupcakes turn out giant but the cake engulfs the cream center and it's delicious either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
So yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jewelz35

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CKG
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Yummy cupcakes! Recipe made about 14 large cupcakes. Baked for 25 min, but could have taken them out at 23 min- they cooked a lil hard on the top, but nothing major. The center was soft and moist and the cream cheese filling came out perfect! The only changes I made were to sub coffee for water and omit the 1/8 tsp of salt from the cream cheese filling. One warning: These little numbers are addictive- you can't eat just one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CKG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Photo by thaichica
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
My mom used to make these for us when we were kids. I am happy to carry on this tradition now that I've found the recipe online. I made these this evening and they turned out just like they did when I was a kid. LOVE these. They also freeze really well. We always made these around Christmas time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thaichica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
I omitted the salt and used white vinegar instead of cider vinegar. These were good, but the batter was not as rich, fudgy and chocolatey as I was expecting. Next time I think I'll actually melt some chocolate into the cupcake batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Loved the chocolate cake but the gooey center tasted a little like uncooked dough. Probably wont make these again. The taste is really good though, we didn't throw them out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by acov

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Bridger, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 578) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Ice Cream Cone Cupcakes

See how to make super-fun ice cream cone cupcakes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States