Black Bottom Cupcakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
These are pretty good. I made no changes the first time i made them and i was a little disappointed. The middle was not gooey at all. I made them again and omitted the egg, warmed the cream cheese and baked for 23 minutes. I could actually taste the cream cheese then. My niece thinks the cake portion could be sweeter but i thought they were fine. They are much better cold, don't eat them right out of the oven. they are richer once the chocolate chips set up again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Here is my .02 cents, I live in colorado. The high altitude doesn't work for the cake recipe. Use a devils food cake mix and follow high altitude directions. Make sure the cream cheese AND egg are at room temp and do not over-mix. I mix by hand to ensure this doesn't happen. My cream cheese center is never runny and always sinks to the bottom. some of the pictures posted look horrible and I have never had a problem with center not sinking, doing it my way. The top is only cake, never ANY cream cheese visible. It is always a surprise when people bite into them. I also frost with either chocolate ganache or cream cheese frosting. These cupcakes will never be beat. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
They were amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Excellant
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
I have used this recipe for over a year now and forgot to rate it!!! Maybe I was in such a state of euphoria from how great these are and my brain wasn't working!! Love these Love these Love these!! I just made them and can never get the ratio of cupcake holders right with the amount of batter I have. Either way, I double the recipe and using standard sized cupcake pans, I was able to get 31. So if you're trying to do the standard 24, you might want to double it and enjoy the extras. Thanks a ton for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claire Wood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: White Hall, Maryland, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly except for the mini chips! I used regular because that is what I had on hand. I did add a little instant expresso for the enhancement ofthe chocolate and they were wonderful! The only made 16 and I did have filling left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
If you find the filling too runny you may want to omit the egg. I've made this recipe for years at a local coffee shop and never added an egg to the filling. These are one of my customers favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Are they supposed to be crunchy on top? I got 12 large cupcakes and used all the filling. I filled the cups 2/3 full though, not the 1/3 as stated int he recipe. Despite their bigger size, they were done in 27 min--and crispy on top baked on the middle rack of oven. Super good cupcake though, and I like what the mini chips add to the usual filling. I used the coffee instead of water as suggested by other reviewers, and all else was as listed. Thanks for sharing! Next time I will try double the cake recipe for the same amount of filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Camp Lejeune, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
EXCELLENT! The dollop of cream cheese mixture wasn't enough, I had half the bowl left. So I just piled it on and they turned out awesome! They are even better refrigerated and eaten cold. Almost like fudge. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by busymomof5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
This is the best cream cheese cupcake recipe I have found. Everyone who has tried them has fallen in love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 575) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Ice Cream Cone Cupcakes

See how to make super-fun ice cream cone cupcakes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States