Black Bottom Cupcakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I LOVE these things! My mom made them for every picnic/BBQ I can remember. Our family trick is to add about 3/4 c. of coconut. It's so fantastic that way! But she always used a cake mix so I was excited to try this recipe. The first go round I baked as directed and it was a burnt disaster! I think the temp is too high!!! I tried it again at 325 for 16 minutes and it worked much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Amazingly delicious and incredibly moist! And honestly, not too bad for you! I follow the recipe except for one step: I don't add the chocolate chips directly to the cream cheese mixture. I wait until the cupcakes are ready to go into the oven and then drop a few chocolate chips on top of the cream cheese. Everyone loves them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
I found the filling (after cooking) to be tasty but not as noticeably cream-cheesy as I was expecting. I'm not sure how to improve that because most of mine had about as much filling as was going to be reasonably possible without risking making a nasty mess. Could play around with it to up the cheese factor though, I think flour or cornstarch in the filling (along with the egg) might make it so you could use a 2 TB cheese 1 TB cupcake batter (instead of the other ratio, 1 TB cheese 2 TB batter). Thank you for sharing, these are certainly tasty and cute :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Was very moist and delicious. Only cooked it for 20 minutes, otherwise it would have been overcooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Great recipe. If you want to dress them up with frosting, try Rick's Buttercream, (using half the recipe). Follow reader's suggestions and use half butter, half shortening. Beat at least 10 minutes on high. Makes a light, not to sweet, perfect compliment to these. Springle some colored sugar or springles on them and they look beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Made this for my girlfriend because her mom would make this when she was little. It was no exactly how her mom made it but she loved it. The first batch was too crunchy but I fixed it by leaving it less time. She loved it and my kids too. Loved that it wasn't too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
This were an awesome addition to my collection of sweet desserts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rsteve3

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Long Branch, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
These are pretty good. I made no changes the first time i made them and i was a little disappointed. The middle was not gooey at all. I made them again and omitted the egg, warmed the cream cheese and baked for 23 minutes. I could actually taste the cream cheese then. My niece thinks the cake portion could be sweeter but i thought they were fine. They are much better cold, don't eat them right out of the oven. they are richer once the chocolate chips set up again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Here is my .02 cents, I live in colorado. The high altitude doesn't work for the cake recipe. Use a devils food cake mix and follow high altitude directions. Make sure the cream cheese AND egg are at room temp and do not over-mix. I mix by hand to ensure this doesn't happen. My cream cheese center is never runny and always sinks to the bottom. some of the pictures posted look horrible and I have never had a problem with center not sinking, doing it my way. The top is only cake, never ANY cream cheese visible. It is always a surprise when people bite into them. I also frost with either chocolate ganache or cream cheese frosting. These cupcakes will never be beat. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
They were amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 582) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Sweetheart Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are the perfect way to impress your sweetheart.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States