Black Bottom Cupcakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
These were delicious! I doubled the recipe because one batch made just one dozen and I needed more than that. The cupcakes turned out moist and delicious - no frosting needed! I followed the advice of another reviewed and added a teaspoon of my homemade strawberry freezer jam to the cupcake just before baking. It added a wonderful touch. I made these for a group of college students and they all loved them. I will definiately make thesee again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dodgeball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
I made these for my daughter's first birthday party and everyone raved about them. One guest asked me to make them again for a party she's hosting next week. I added a chocolate frosting and sprinkles, which was a bit over the top but really yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Super easy to make! I left the cream cheese mixture in the fridge for an hour or so and used a small scooper to put into each cupcake. I used half coffee half water and they came out super chocolatey and not as 'mocha-y' which I prefer. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by littlebird87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Belcamp, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
OMG! These are awesome! We can't even wait for them to cool when they come out of the oven. We just start eating them right away! Yummmmm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. I am a seasoned baker and a cupcake aficionado, so I was really excited about making these. As always, I'd read several black bottom recipes beforehand. But they just turned out dry. Plus, there was not enough of the cake mixture, nor enough cocoa. I probably should have added some sour cream (as another recipe suggested) because they were dry-definitely way less cooking time than stated; I'd say about half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
The chocolate cupcake itself is nice and moist and the cream cheese inside is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leakey, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Amazing cupcakes, thank you for sharing a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TinkaOcurry

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by haamsandwich
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Wonderful!! I put in 1/3 c cocoa to make them more chocolatey. I also made them in mini muffin cups (yields just about 48). Around 20 minutes @ 350* for a 24 count mini muffin pan. I actually stopped using a timer and just kept an eye on them. Remove when the cream cheese is starting to get tan. Last thing...many people said there was too much cream cheese batter left over. I filled additional cups with that renaming batter and my fiance loved it. It was like poor-man's chocolate chip cheese cake. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I LOVE these things! My mom made them for every picnic/BBQ I can remember. Our family trick is to add about 3/4 c. of coconut. It's so fantastic that way! But she always used a cake mix so I was excited to try this recipe. The first go round I baked as directed and it was a burnt disaster! I think the temp is too high!!! I tried it again at 325 for 16 minutes and it worked much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Amazingly delicious and incredibly moist! And honestly, not too bad for you! I follow the recipe except for one step: I don't add the chocolate chips directly to the cream cheese mixture. I wait until the cupcakes are ready to go into the oven and then drop a few chocolate chips on top of the cream cheese. Everyone loves them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 580) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Ice Cream Cone Cupcakes

See how to make super-fun ice cream cone cupcakes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States