Black Bottom Cupcakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Here are the problems I had with the recipe: The cupcakes sink a lot. The recipe does not yield anywhere near what it says. The muffin tins should probably be filled at least half way (I had quite a few that were sunk about 1/4 inch bellow the paper). It's not a good recipe for birthday cupcakes. They were okay at best as far as taste but some of them stuck to the paper and some of them didn't- not sure what the difference was. I followed the recipe exactly plus I read the reviews and heeded the advice. They were okay but not anything special. I had extra cream cheese mixture left over so maybe I didn't put enough filling in the cupcakes but I put about a tablespoon in each which seemed to be a lot. If I was going to remake them I would have doubled the recipe- I got about 29 cupcakes making 1 1/2 times the recipe but like I said some of the cupcakes were small so I think this recipe yields more like 18 cupcakes or fewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
I thought these cupcakes were great! Although, I followed the recipe exactly, it probably would have been better if I had only made 18 cupcakes instead of 24 because they do not rise very much. They were still great cupcakes, nonetheless. Especially with the vanilla I got from Mexico- the perfect addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
Followed the recipe exactly as written - these just didn't dazzle me. They were o.k. Bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RoMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
This is one of my favorite cupcake recipes. I don't change a thing with the ingredients. The only things I have noticed is that I never use all the filling and my cupcakes are always done at 20 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by margaritka
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
Very Good! Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea.galvez
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
these were delicious. I did everything exactly to recipe except that I added a splash of vanilla to the cream cheese mixture as well. I did include the salt (some people omitted it) and it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moaa
Reviewed: May 9, 2012
Really love the chocolate cake part! As for the filling, it was descent. I had used regular chocolate chips because that's all I had so it sunked in the bottom (or is it supposed to be like that?) and my husband said the gooey chocolate is the best part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
Followed recipe exactly as written. These are out of this world good !!!!!!!!!!!!! Anyone who uses a box cake mix is just not doing justice to this recipe. These are worth the little bit of extra work. THANK YOU FOR SHARING !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy F.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annied11

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kiel, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
These were delicious! I doubled the recipe because one batch made just one dozen and I needed more than that. The cupcakes turned out moist and delicious - no frosting needed! I followed the advice of another reviewed and added a teaspoon of my homemade strawberry freezer jam to the cupcake just before baking. It added a wonderful touch. I made these for a group of college students and they all loved them. I will definiately make thesee again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dodgeball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 579) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Ice Cream Cone Cupcakes

See how to make super-fun ice cream cone cupcakes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States