Black Bottom Cupcakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Delicious! After reading some of the reviews, I substituted milk for water and used probably 3 times the amount of cocoa, since I didn't find the batter chocolaty enough. However, I didn't get as many out of them, don't know what I did wrong. Btw, they also freeze well - if nobody eats them first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Yum! I just have two suggestions. I ended up making a double batch of the chocolate cake part because unless you want to make 24 teensy cupcakes, that's what you'll have to do. It's also a good idea to let the dallop of cream cheese mixture settle for about 10 min before popping the cupcakes into the oven...this way, the cream cheese has time to sink into the center, making the final product look prettier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
These are awesome! Might add a little more cream cheese topping next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Absolutely yummy and no difficulties with the filling what so ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I was ready to throw these out once they cooled. They were awful. After sitting in the fridge overnight they were significantly better. They'll get eaten but I won't make them again. I followed the recipe exactly and ended up with sour filling when they were fresh. After sitting, the filling tasted more tangy than sour. The cake is dry and flavorless. If I took them out of the oven sooner (I left it for 25 mins) the cake may have been more moist, but the flavor's not nearly intense enough. I ended up with enough cake batter for 21 cupcakes, not 24. I probably had enough filling for 24, but used it up in the 21 pretty easily. Next time I try black bottoms, I'll probably use box cake mix, and will use way more sugar in the filling. I tried Rachael Ray's recipe for these cupcakes before. Her filling calls for a cup of sugar and it's not half bad. She only uses an egg yolk instead of a whole egg so the filling sinks a lot more than this filling did. I had good luck with this recipe's filling consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Yum! Came out perfectly and cake is tasty as well as cream cheese. I yielded 21 cupcakes. I let them cool a bit and put them in the fridge and they are fabulous! I made two modifications for what I had on hand: regular white vinegar and milk chocolate chips, about half a bag. I will make again, probably sooner than later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
If you follow this recipe exactly, these cupcakes turn out beautifully. I made them the ay before going to a friend's house and just heated them up for 10 minutes before serving. They were gooey like they just came out of the oven for the first time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
I substituted skim milk for the water. I make a double batch and make them as chocolate cupcakes with frosting too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
I would not make these again.they were ok every one thought I used a cake mix.they were too much trouble for the the outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Simple and easy with no need for icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 588) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Chocolate Beer Cupcakes with Whiskey Filling

Stout in the batter, whiskey in the chocolate filling, Irish cream in the icing!

Vegan Cupcakes

Dairy-free cupcakes flavored with vanilla extract and coconut oil.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States