Black Bottom Cupcakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
Fine, but not as chocolatey as I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I wouldn't eat these again warm. The melted chocolate was overpowering and I wasn't fond of the hot cream cheese either. After a night in the fridge they were pretty good, though. The reformed chocolate was much better tasting. I had used coffee instead of water as suggested and the flavor of dark chocolate really builds up the more you eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Yum! Used the dark chocolate coco powder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
My recipe made 24. I had cream cheese mixture left over. I did go back and add more to each cupcake, but still had a lot left over. I wouldn't recommend overdoing it on the cream cheese. Next time, I would make more cake mixture, maybe 1/2 batch. I'm not understanding the "blah" reviews about the cake, mine was moist, chocolatey and very tasty. I will try the coffee substitute next time as I normally do this but I was pretty surprised how good this recipe is as written. I baked mine for 25 minutes. I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Cherrette MacDonald

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
i've tried this and substitute coffee instead of water and it turned out soo goood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iamnonay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
The cream cheese part was pretty good, but the chocolate cake was lacking both in flavor and texture. Dry, bland cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Delicious and easy recipe! I added vanilla to the filling and a teaspoon instant coffee to the water. Mine were done in 15 minutes instead of 25 minutes. These were delicious and so moist. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
I've made these at least 20 times now. Always perfect, everyone always devours them. Don't over cook. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Ashford

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
This recipe is mmmm mmmmm good!! The only changes I made was to add half a teaspoon of vanilla to the filling and a spoon of instant coffee to the water. 20 minutes they were done. I also got 15 cupcakes out of this recipe, but then I like mine tall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah “Sam” Alexandra
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
This is BY FAR my favorite Black Bottom Cupcake recipe! And this is the one that has won over my best friend's in laws and family from Australia as well as my boyfriends out of town family. I love making these! Upon the advice of other bakers, I too switch the water for very strongly steeped coffee. I also shake the chocolate chips in flour before putting them in to the batter because they don't sink straight to the bottom that way. They tend to stay more toward the middle and top. I love making a coffee infused cream cheese icing for these too! It's always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 587) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Chocolate Beer Cupcakes with Whiskey Filling

Stout in the batter, whiskey in the chocolate filling, Irish cream in the icing!

Vegan Cupcakes

Dairy-free cupcakes flavored with vanilla extract and coconut oil.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States