Black Bottom Cupcakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Yummy combination of chocolate and cheesecake--doesn't get any better! I always have a lot of the cheesecake mixture left over when I follow this recipe, so I now double the chocolate cake portion of this recipe and follow the cheesecake portion as is. This ratio works perfectly for me (no leftovers). When baking in mini muffin tins I bake at 350 degrees for 17 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Whitehlg
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
This is a great recipe! Don't substitute the lower fat cream cheese, and do use a good chocolate. Use all of the cream cheese mixture. I used to have a lot left over, but now I'll add some additional cream cheese/ chocolate chip mixture to each one until it 's all used. Mine are usually baked within 15 minutes. They also stay nice for a week, if covered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lehighton, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
These are killer! Next time I'll use a bigger "dollop" of the cheese filling. I used dark cocoa instead of the regular...WOW
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaclynn G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Perry Hall, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
I've made this recipe twice, once as it is written and once with no salt. The first time the cake part was really boring and heavy but the cream cheese filling still made them taste great. The second time same thing so I tried looking for a new recipe and found out that when you live in an high altitude environment that the cake part just doesn't work. So I made them with my regular chocolate cupcake recipe and they turned out amazing. Yummy. So if you've had issues with the cake part switch to your basic chocolate cupcake recipe and still use the cream cheese filling, it won't disappoint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
I love these cupcakes and they are a hit every time that I make them. I use regular size chocolate chips and use either cider or white vinegar depending on what I have on hand. Here is a secret that I shared with a pastry chef who loves them but thought mine turned out better than his! **** refrigerate the cream cheese mixture while you make the cake batter or even overnight! *********
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
The cupcakes came out really good!! Like some people suggested I made some changes- 1. Ignored the salt in both the cream cheese and the chocolate mix, I don't think it adds anything 2. I didn't add egg to the cream cheese mix so that it won't be very runny 3. Used 1/3 cup cocoa instead of the suggested 1/4 - not sure if this actually makes a difference 4. Substituted water with 2% milk so that the chocolate mix won't be very runny and finally 5. to bake a tray of 15 medium-large cupcakes, it took just about 15-20 mins. I made the cream cheese mix using the amounts given in the recipe (omitting the egg and salt). Be sure to use all of it in the cupcakes - it really makes the cupcakes yummier!! I also ended up freezing some of the cupcakes. They tasted fresh and just as yummy as when it came out of the oven after reheating!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
I remember these from when I was a kid. A neighbor used to make them so I was interested to try them for myself 30 years later. They just didn't do it for me this time. I love cream cheese, I LOVE chocolate...and I even make a few with jelly. I would make them again because my family really liked them but I would say that there are other recipes that thrill me more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOULEC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Delicious! After reading some of the reviews, I substituted milk for water and used probably 3 times the amount of cocoa, since I didn't find the batter chocolaty enough. However, I didn't get as many out of them, don't know what I did wrong. Btw, they also freeze well - if nobody eats them first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Yum! I just have two suggestions. I ended up making a double batch of the chocolate cake part because unless you want to make 24 teensy cupcakes, that's what you'll have to do. It's also a good idea to let the dallop of cream cheese mixture settle for about 10 min before popping the cupcakes into the oven...this way, the cream cheese has time to sink into the center, making the final product look prettier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
These are awesome! Might add a little more cream cheese topping next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 575) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Ice Cream Cone Cupcakes

See how to make super-fun ice cream cone cupcakes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States