Black Bottom Cupcakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I really love these. So moist, rich, and super easy. Here's a great tip; I used a large cookie scoop to transfer the batter to the cupcake liners and it came out to exactly 24, evenly filled cupcakes. Then I used a small cookie scoop to top the batter with the cream cheese mixture right in the center. They came out perfectly and the cream cheese mixture sunk into the batter as intended. Happy baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Bentonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
My kids find these so fascinating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BethAnn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Epworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
These are really good. The most important thing I have learned is that you should COOK THEM THE DAY BEFORE you eat them. For some strange reason, they taste 10X better the next day. I make them in cupcake and regular layer circle cake. I also only bake them for 25 min....seems to be fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D.j. Glass

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
Fine, but not as chocolatey as I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I wouldn't eat these again warm. The melted chocolate was overpowering and I wasn't fond of the hot cream cheese either. After a night in the fridge they were pretty good, though. The reformed chocolate was much better tasting. I had used coffee instead of water as suggested and the flavor of dark chocolate really builds up the more you eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Yum! Used the dark chocolate coco powder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
My recipe made 24. I had cream cheese mixture left over. I did go back and add more to each cupcake, but still had a lot left over. I wouldn't recommend overdoing it on the cream cheese. Next time, I would make more cake mixture, maybe 1/2 batch. I'm not understanding the "blah" reviews about the cake, mine was moist, chocolatey and very tasty. I will try the coffee substitute next time as I normally do this but I was pretty surprised how good this recipe is as written. I baked mine for 25 minutes. I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TARSMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
i've tried this and substitute coffee instead of water and it turned out soo goood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iamnonay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
The cream cheese part was pretty good, but the chocolate cake was lacking both in flavor and texture. Dry, bland cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Delicious and easy recipe! I added vanilla to the filling and a teaspoon instant coffee to the water. Mine were done in 15 minutes instead of 25 minutes. These were delicious and so moist. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 580) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Ice Cream Cone Cupcakes

See how to make super-fun ice cream cone cupcakes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States