Black Bottom Cupcakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Yum! Used the dark chocolate coco powder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
My recipe made 24. I had cream cheese mixture left over. I did go back and add more to each cupcake, but still had a lot left over. I wouldn't recommend overdoing it on the cream cheese. Next time, I would make more cake mixture, maybe 1/2 batch. I'm not understanding the "blah" reviews about the cake, mine was moist, chocolatey and very tasty. I will try the coffee substitute next time as I normally do this but I was pretty surprised how good this recipe is as written. I baked mine for 25 minutes. I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TARSMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
i've tried this and substitute coffee instead of water and it turned out soo goood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iamnonay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
The cream cheese part was pretty good, but the chocolate cake was lacking both in flavor and texture. Dry, bland cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Delicious and easy recipe! I added vanilla to the filling and a teaspoon instant coffee to the water. Mine were done in 15 minutes instead of 25 minutes. These were delicious and so moist. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
I've made these at least 20 times now. Always perfect, everyone always devours them. Don't over cook. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
This recipe is mmmm mmmmm good!! The only changes I made was to add half a teaspoon of vanilla to the filling and a spoon of instant coffee to the water. 20 minutes they were done. I also got 15 cupcakes out of this recipe, but then I like mine tall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by darquesam
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
This is BY FAR my favorite Black Bottom Cupcake recipe! And this is the one that has won over my best friend's in laws and family from Australia as well as my boyfriends out of town family. I love making these! Upon the advice of other bakers, I too switch the water for very strongly steeped coffee. I also shake the chocolate chips in flour before putting them in to the batter because they don't sink straight to the bottom that way. They tend to stay more toward the middle and top. I love making a coffee infused cream cheese icing for these too! It's always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I have made these for years. MOST IMPORTANT!! ONLY use Philadelphia Cream cheese. I have used off brands, low fat, fat free. All will get runny and not give you the same result. A few walnuts or pecans make them extra special. Once I even try icing them. Too much. Wouldn't recommend. They never last long!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
These are GREAT! I use the tiny cupcake liners and only bake for about 8-9 minutes. I put the batter and cream cheese mixture in pastry bags (or ziplocks with a tiny bit of the corner clipped off) to make filling those little cupcake liners easier. I also like to put them in the fridge and eat them cold. MMM....MMMM. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ruther Glen, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 575) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Ice Cream Cone Cupcakes

See how to make super-fun ice cream cone cupcakes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States