Black Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 14, 2013
For someone (batchelor) that has NEVER made black beans before, this recipe sounded easy. The one thing that confused me was the prep/cook time vs. the "ready in" time. I think if I make this again, I'll stick to canned black beans instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
I had a bag of black beans and used this recipe to prepare them. We enjoyed them as a side dish the first night. I also used them drained over a green salad and in a Bean Bean Chili recipe from this site. Great depth of flavor! Definitely a Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Graham, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
First of all, I took the easy way out and used canned beans. I sautéed the onions, peppers and garlic in the olive oil, then added the bay leaf and seasonings. I also gave it a good glug of chicken broth to help keep the beans moist while they simmered (the truth be told a little bacon grease too!), and also added the wine at this point. The idea of adding the wine at the end without cooking off the alcohol didn’t appeal to me. Besides, simmering the beans WITH the wine helps give them good flavor! I did add the vinegar at the end, which really served to brighten the flavor as well. I simmered them about 20 minutes, basically the time it took to heat the chicken enchiladas I served them with. I liked these dressed up black beans and they worked well with the enchiladas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Delicious, I don't add the vinegar and wine. I will add a few pieces of cooked bacon if I have them handy. My husband LOVES these beans and he's not a big bean eater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Five Boys One Mom so nota

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mitchell, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Great base recipe. My only alteration was to add a chopped, seeded jalapeno along with the onion, etc to give the beams a bit more flavor. I used the quick soak method described by MrsOz and didn't have any problems with adding salt. Delicious alternative to canned beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smithchic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
this is such a good recipe. I added the salt after about an hour of cooking to ensure that the beans were not tough. That seemed to work and the flavour was great. The point about this recipe is that it is not supposed to have a smack you in the face kind of flavour - that comes from the other things you will put them with - I put mine with spicy enchiladas and they complimented it beautifully, adding a really nice savoury flavour and gorgeous texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I loved this recipe, however I started soaking the beans and then I looked for a recipe. I had already added some chicken broth that had quite a lot of salt in it. I then started adding the other ingredients and realized I needed to rinse the beans. So I drained them through a fine strainer and added more water and seasoning. I ommited the white vinegar, olive oil, and white wine, and added blended stewed tomatoes, a couple of tlbs of balsamic vinegar, finely ground up carrots for sweetness and healthliness, and a 15oz can of tomatoe sauce. I also added a diced up kielbasa sausage that I microwaved first and drained off the fat. I cooked it for several hours to help soften the beans, and also intensify the flavors. It was so delicious. Oh I also added basil in place of the oregano, didnt have any on hand. The beans softened up great in time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I don't typicall rate a recipe without making it exactly as written. However, I did everything except the last steps of wine, oil, and vinegar. It was soo good as is I just couldn't wait. LOVED IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gaylemichel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Carpinteria, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
This recipe calls for dried beans soaked for all night... I always use dried beans but use a quick soak method. This would eliminate the salt making the beans "tough". The quick soak is simply: rinse dried beans in colander. Put dried beans into a stock pot covered with water, bring to boil (with lid off), boil for three minutes. After they've boiled the three minutes let soak for only one hour, with the lid on. A lot can be done in an hour! When the hour is over rinse again & proceed with your recipe. I've never had a problem with this method. And it actually helps to eliminate the problem (gas) most people associate with beans. I doubled this recipe today & we are already enjoying it! Very good flavor. I did add some more spices though, not too many.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States