Black Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2006
Tart and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Airy, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
this is such a good recipe. I added the salt after about an hour of cooking to ensure that the beans were not tough. That seemed to work and the flavour was great. The point about this recipe is that it is not supposed to have a smack you in the face kind of flavour - that comes from the other things you will put them with - I put mine with spicy enchiladas and they complimented it beautifully, adding a really nice savoury flavour and gorgeous texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
These beans were delicious until I added the vinegar and wine. Leave those two out and these beans get 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
This recipe calls for dried beans soaked for all night... I always use dried beans but use a quick soak method. This would eliminate the salt making the beans "tough". The quick soak is simply: rinse dried beans in colander. Put dried beans into a stock pot covered with water, bring to boil (with lid off), boil for three minutes. After they've boiled the three minutes let soak for only one hour, with the lid on. A lot can be done in an hour! When the hour is over rinse again & proceed with your recipe. I've never had a problem with this method. And it actually helps to eliminate the problem (gas) most people associate with beans. I doubled this recipe today & we are already enjoying it! Very good flavor. I did add some more spices though, not too many.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2004
I put this in the slow cooker, and added the wine while it was cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
I love this dish, my family loved this dish. Great with any meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Very easy...as GAPEACH12 wrote, I will also use this recipe for all of my bean dishes and I did not need to soak them. Great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Haines City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
Really great! Fixed 3/28/12: Used 4 cans of Bush's black beans....onion flakes....minced garlic. Cut salt to 1tsp....cumin and oregano to 1/2t....used cider vinegar, about 4t. Omitted pepper, wine and oil but might try them next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palestine, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I don't typicall rate a recipe without making it exactly as written. However, I did everything except the last steps of wine, oil, and vinegar. It was soo good as is I just couldn't wait. LOVED IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gaylemichel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Carpinteria, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I loved this recipe, however I started soaking the beans and then I looked for a recipe. I had already added some chicken broth that had quite a lot of salt in it. I then started adding the other ingredients and realized I needed to rinse the beans. So I drained them through a fine strainer and added more water and seasoning. I ommited the white vinegar, olive oil, and white wine, and added blended stewed tomatoes, a couple of tlbs of balsamic vinegar, finely ground up carrots for sweetness and healthliness, and a 15oz can of tomatoe sauce. I also added a diced up kielbasa sausage that I microwaved first and drained off the fat. I cooked it for several hours to help soften the beans, and also intensify the flavors. It was so delicious. Oh I also added basil in place of the oregano, didnt have any on hand. The beans softened up great in time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanW

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States