Black Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Five Boys One Mom so nota

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mitchell, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Great base recipe. My only alteration was to add a chopped, seeded jalapeno along with the onion, etc to give the beams a bit more flavor. I used the quick soak method described by MrsOz and didn't have any problems with adding salt. Delicious alternative to canned beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smithchic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
this is such a good recipe. I added the salt after about an hour of cooking to ensure that the beans were not tough. That seemed to work and the flavour was great. The point about this recipe is that it is not supposed to have a smack you in the face kind of flavour - that comes from the other things you will put them with - I put mine with spicy enchiladas and they complimented it beautifully, adding a really nice savoury flavour and gorgeous texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I loved this recipe, however I started soaking the beans and then I looked for a recipe. I had already added some chicken broth that had quite a lot of salt in it. I then started adding the other ingredients and realized I needed to rinse the beans. So I drained them through a fine strainer and added more water and seasoning. I ommited the white vinegar, olive oil, and white wine, and added blended stewed tomatoes, a couple of tlbs of balsamic vinegar, finely ground up carrots for sweetness and healthliness, and a 15oz can of tomatoe sauce. I also added a diced up kielbasa sausage that I microwaved first and drained off the fat. I cooked it for several hours to help soften the beans, and also intensify the flavors. It was so delicious. Oh I also added basil in place of the oregano, didnt have any on hand. The beans softened up great in time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I don't typically rate a recipe without making it exactly as written. However, I did everything except the last steps of wine, oil, and vinegar. It was soo good as is I just couldn't wait. LOVED IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gaylemichel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Carpinteria, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
This recipe calls for dried beans soaked for all night... I always use dried beans but use a quick soak method. This would eliminate the salt making the beans "tough". The quick soak is simply: rinse dried beans in colander. Put dried beans into a stock pot covered with water, bring to boil (with lid off), boil for three minutes. After they've boiled the three minutes let soak for only one hour, with the lid on. A lot can be done in an hour! When the hour is over rinse again & proceed with your recipe. I've never had a problem with this method. And it actually helps to eliminate the problem (gas) most people associate with beans. I doubled this recipe today & we are already enjoying it! Very good flavor. I did add some more spices though, not too many.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
I liked the flavor of the beans, but they are mild to me. Cooked my black beans after soaking 12 hours; they still needed a couple of hours of cooking time. Held off on the salt (1 T seems like an error.) Only added the vinegar at the end of cooking -- not wine, and used the rice vinegar I had, which is pretty mild. I also added cilantro, which a reviewer suggested, even though I had only some old dried stuff. Note: you need a couple of cans of prepared beans to come near the amount the recipe creates. I Served it on rice w/salsa and lime. Tastes even better with smoked sausage, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
I loved the flavor of these beans, but they came out so tough. I used dried beans, and knew enough to leave the salt until the end, but forgot about the vinegar. Acidity makes uncooked beans tough! From what I can tell, a lot of people who have rated this recipe highly have used canned beans or left out the vinegar, and followed another user's suggestion to salt at the end. Next time, I'm going to try leaving -both- the salt and the vinegar out until the beans are cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
Really great! Fixed 3/28/12: Used 4 cans of Bush's black beans....onion flakes....minced garlic. Cut salt to 1tsp....cumin and oregano to 1/2t....used cider vinegar, about 4t. Omitted pepper, wine and oil but might try them next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela K Lightfoot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palestine, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
delicious ! and always find different ways to make them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gonzalezlovetocook

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States