Black Beans with Pico de Gallo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
This was great. To make it vegetarian, and cut down on the fat...sauté the onions in PAM and use liquid smoke to flavor instead of bacon grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Decatur, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
I saw this recipe some time ago, but finally made it today when I saw that it was featured in allrecipes "The Daily Dish." Sure am glad I did! I'm not a big eater, but I could have eaten all of this...I think it would also make a great appetizer dip garnished with sour cream and served with tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
This was absolutely delicious--I served this as a "bean dip" with a little sour cream on top and tortilla rounds on the side. We loved it. NO leftovers. This recipe's a keeper! NOTE: This served four, not two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
Made with carne asada. We all loved it. Next night another of my sons came over and with the carne leftovers I made this again so he could try it. He loved it too. Peanut oil instead of grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
Quite good. I didn't have any bacon in the house, so I sauted the onions in stock. The pico was really tasty and made the beans somethign different
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
We loved it! I used white balsamic vinegar, added a bit extra honey, as well as half a chopped serrano pepper (seeds removed). I used chicken broth instead of water just because I had some open in teh fridge. We loved the pico de gallo & had it on our fajitas as well as the black beans. Thansk for a tasty recipe SPEARL20!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Excellent recipe and very quick to make. If you don't have bacon grease, just use olive oil and lightly saute red pepper flakes before adding the black beans for a nice kick! This is a family favorite and when we have devoured the black beans we pull out the taco chips to finish off the wonderful pico de gallo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
This picco de gallo was delicious. We ended up just having it with brown rice because I was out of beans. I can't wait to try it with black beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
The beans were okay, but they weren't really anything to write home about (but worth trying and easy to make). The pico was what really stood out for me. O-U-T-S-T-A-N-D-I-N-G. I know that pico de gallo seems really simple to make, but I've been unable to find a recipe that tasted anything like the pico from my favorite mexican restaurant here in Austin until now. The only thing I did different was to use white wine vinegar since we were out of balsamic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Victoria, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
This is a good side dish of black beans! My husband said next time he could make a meal out of them alone! Great recipe and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pico de Gallo

See how to make a simple and super-fresh Mexican salsa.

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States