Black Beans with Pico de Gallo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
Made with carne asada. We all loved it. Next night another of my sons came over and with the carne leftovers I made this again so he could try it. He loved it too. Peanut oil instead of grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
This is a good side dish of black beans! My husband said next time he could make a meal out of them alone! Great recipe and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
We loved it! I used white balsamic vinegar, added a bit extra honey, as well as half a chopped serrano pepper (seeds removed). I used chicken broth instead of water just because I had some open in teh fridge. We loved the pico de gallo & had it on our fajitas as well as the black beans. Thansk for a tasty recipe SPEARL20!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
Super yummy! Great recipe with the black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Hinkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
This was great. To make it vegetarian, and cut down on the fat...sauté the onions in PAM and use liquid smoke to flavor instead of bacon grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Decatur, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
This was a very good, straight forward pico de gallo recipe. I served this with Fish Tacos from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
This was SO good. I'm a vegetarian, so I didn't use any meat product, just olive oil. I didn't have much in the house in the way of fresh vegetables, so I didn't have the Pico de Gallo on top, but just the beans were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
I saw this recipe some time ago, but finally made it today when I saw that it was featured in allrecipes "The Daily Dish." Sure am glad I did! I'm not a big eater, but I could have eaten all of this...I think it would also make a great appetizer dip garnished with sour cream and served with tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
Excellent!! Don't change a thing. Served with steak quesadillas and spanish rice. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
The pico recipe is great! I made the pico only to put on carne asada tacos and got rave reviews. So easy to put together. The next time I made the beans and served them as a side dish - pico optional for those who didn't care for it. The beans were very good - bacon grease adds a wonderful flavor. I added more water than it called for because they tend to thicken as the heat - but I also mashed them a bit so it wouldn't be too watery. Will keep to make again - and the pico is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Escondido, California, USA
Living In: Joseph, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pico de Gallo

See how to make a simple and super-fresh Mexican salsa.

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States