Black Beans with Pico de Gallo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
Excellent! I changed nothing. This one's a keeper! I served it with Zatarain's Mexican Rice on the side. The Pico de Gallo is great with that too. Thank you for a lovely addition to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Seekonk, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
This picco de gallo was delicious. We ended up just having it with brown rice because I was out of beans. I can't wait to try it with black beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
Quite good. I didn't have any bacon in the house, so I sauted the onions in stock. The pico was really tasty and made the beans somethign different
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
The pico recipe is great! I made the pico only to put on carne asada tacos and got rave reviews. So easy to put together. The next time I made the beans and served them as a side dish - pico optional for those who didn't care for it. The beans were very good - bacon grease adds a wonderful flavor. I added more water than it called for because they tend to thicken as the heat - but I also mashed them a bit so it wouldn't be too watery. Will keep to make again - and the pico is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Escondido, California, USA
Living In: Joseph, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
Excellent!! Don't change a thing. Served with steak quesadillas and spanish rice. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
I saw this recipe some time ago, but finally made it today when I saw that it was featured in allrecipes "The Daily Dish." Sure am glad I did! I'm not a big eater, but I could have eaten all of this...I think it would also make a great appetizer dip garnished with sour cream and served with tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
This was SO good. I'm a vegetarian, so I didn't use any meat product, just olive oil. I didn't have much in the house in the way of fresh vegetables, so I didn't have the Pico de Gallo on top, but just the beans were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
This was a very good, straight forward pico de gallo recipe. I served this with Fish Tacos from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
This was great. To make it vegetarian, and cut down on the fat...sauté the onions in PAM and use liquid smoke to flavor instead of bacon grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Decatur, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
Super yummy! Great recipe with the black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Hinkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pico de Gallo

See how to make a simple and super-fresh Mexican salsa.

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States