Black Beans with Pico de Gallo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
EXCELLENT! I don't know what I liked better...the pico de gallo or the beans cooked in the bacon grease, lol. I used green onions and 1 seeded jalapeno in the pico and sweet onion in the beans. All of the flavors went very well together. Made this to go with our tacos tonight and it was loved by all! I would just make the pico de gallo to use as a dip or put over tacos too! Will definately be using this recipe often! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Next time I'll cut back on the balsamic vinegar but it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UALMEIDA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA
Living In: Encinitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
This was great! I'm always looking for quick lunches to bring to work and this does the trick. I also omitted the bacon and substitued olive oil. The rest of the recipe I followed exactly and it was superb! Thank you for a simple and healthy option for mexican food lovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
Delicious!!! We used Pico de Gallo we had already mixed up, so I can't comment on the Pico de Gallo, but the beans couldn't have been easier, and the bacon grease gave them just wonderful flavor. We will be making this again and again! Thank you for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
The beans were okay, but they weren't really anything to write home about (but worth trying and easy to make). The pico was what really stood out for me. O-U-T-S-T-A-N-D-I-N-G. I know that pico de gallo seems really simple to make, but I've been unable to find a recipe that tasted anything like the pico from my favorite mexican restaurant here in Austin until now. The only thing I did different was to use white wine vinegar since we were out of balsamic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Victoria, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I made a variation of this. tomato, onions, fresh garlic, cinlantro and lime juice. then i added drained black beans from a can and stuck it in the fridge. it's a GREAT snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by manda929

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kemah, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
The Pico De Gallo was excellent! The balsamic and honey are an excellent combination. I used about half the cilantro the recipe called for, and made it with three tomatoes for a bigger crowd. Will DEFINITELY make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
I love the fresh pico with the beans and sour cream. It tastes so fresh and clean. My family was asking for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
Nice bowl of soup or a meal in a bowl! I usually bake the beans my self in a pressure cooker. Also, I add soft white cheese (queso fresco). The bacon fat is KEY to get rid of the 'canned' flavor and hit into the mexican authenticity!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
where are the jalepenos in this recipe - you can't make pico without jalepenos!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pico de Gallo

See how to make a simple and super-fresh Mexican salsa.

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States