Black Beans with Pico de Gallo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
LOVED IT!! What a great combination of flavors! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I used diced bacon as well as the bacon grease. Very nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Delicious. I love my bacon grease like any good southern girl, although I try not to use it too often or too much. I omitted the cilantro (hate it), but left everything else the same. Served over millet which I cooked in chicken broth. Yummy and (relatively) healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
Really good, rich taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Photo by CAROLC80
Reviewed: May 18, 2012
Good flavor with these beans. They were good on rice with some seasoned corn and pork. "Burrito bowl"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAROLC80

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malvern, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dover, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
beans were okay. the pico de gallo had a lot of good flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
Super simple and very quick! Even my "where's the meat" DH liked it. I followed the recipes exactly except I left in the bacon I had cooked for the grease. The fresh pico was fabulous! It would also work as a nice accompanyment to chips. One thing I would warn everyone about is to make sure you look at the serving yield for the original recipe. I didn't and realized it almost at the end of cooking. A quick addition of another can of black beans, another garlic clove, and a little more red onion worked fine, but if you only had enough ingredients for the original recipe, it might throw someone off. Thanks for the great keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
This was absolutely delicious--I served this as a "bean dip" with a little sour cream on top and tortilla rounds on the side. We loved it. NO leftovers. This recipe's a keeper! NOTE: This served four, not two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Very delicious and so quick and easy to make. We had some great fresh tomatoes from the farmer's market. We served this as a side with Pollo Fajitas on AR's. I will say the bacon grease is the key to the flavor in the black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
I'm sad that I served this to company because it was really bland. Maybe my mistake was using real black beans instead of canned? I won't be making this again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T Roos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pico de Gallo

See how to make a simple and super-fresh Mexican salsa.

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States