Black Beans with Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I didn't have black beans. Used white kidney and garbanzo. did add cumin, cyanne, and a pinch of nutmeg. I didn't have carrots but I did have a red bell pepper. Taste really good. Also added lime and a tad of zest to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
What a great multi-purpose recipe!!! While I have a pressure cooker, I opted to make these in the crock pot today, taking some others advice about some shortcuts. I used 2 cans of black beans, one can of petite diced tomatoes (drained), and I sauted the onion, carrot and garlic in a little of the bacon grease. I added a few drops of Louisiana hot sauce, and a drop of liquid smoke, in addition to about 1/4 tsp of ancho chili powder, and a little Arizona Dreaming spice from Penzey's. It smells and tastes wonderful! I could easily add a little chicken and cheese and make this into a burrito, or just roll this into a tortilla by itself. I'm actually considering eating some of it with chips this afternoon. And that's all above just being a wonderful side dish with something else. A very worthwhile dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty2007

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
This was fantastic, will make again and again. I used 2 cans of black beans, drained, didn't have a carrot so chopped up a red bell pepper and added that instead, will always make it that way, the pepper added to the flavor. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Great, hearty recipe. I was out of bacon, so I substituted breakfast sausage links instead. It still came out delicious. I soaked the beans for about 18 hours, and then cooked them in the slow cooker on high for 6 hours, but they could have still used another hour or two. Other than the beans being slightly less tender than optimal (cook's error), it made an excellent meal. There was enough to use as a side for dinner and for two lunch servings the next day. I'll be keeping this recipe on hand as an easy and filling meal for busy workdays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
For those of you without a pressure cooker or who didn't soak their beans for a day. Fear Not! Use canned black beans, fry down the bacon, drain and then cook the onions, garlic and carrots until tender. Add everything else in and heat til warm. I served this with Enchilada Suizas. My wife took the leftovers to work. Had to beat off the co-workers. I've since gotten stict orders to make enough for her to bring leftovers for everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ethan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Harvey, Louisiana, USA
Photo by JaJireh
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
I needed a quick recipe for black beans minus any mexican spice. This was the ticket! A savory dish, I find this recipe to be a set of 'great bones' upon which to improvise and experiment. While cooking, I almost added a dash of blackberry roasted pepper vinegar, but changed my mind, to stay true to the script as written the first time. I see I could have added it and brought out a depth; but left alone, the dish is very well done. I used all garden fresh ingredients, including a shredded zucchini. Since I cook beans, then freeze them, it was a quick dish as well. Thank you! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JaJireh

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs Smith
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I made it pretty much the way Review Mama Cass made it - Thanks, Ms Cass for your suggestions. I put in extra carrots, celery, cilantro, and a can of mexican rotel. Fast and easy on the stove. Served it with brown rice - great main course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
*drool* This is so good. You'll have cravings of it for weeks after. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brewawinningplan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
I made this tonight after searching for a recipe with black beans and bacon. I'm like a previous poster, super lazy. I used 2 cans black beans, a can of diced tomatoes and I used real bacon pieces that you would use on a salad (already cooked). I added some cumin to the recipe also. I didn't cook in a pressure cooker (so no water), just heated it on the stove for about 15 to 20 minutes while I cooked my other food. My husband loved it! He took a second helping even before he got to the meat I served. I will definitely be making this again. Thanks to the original poster and everyone else for their suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Good, basic recipe. I cooked my beans on high in the crockpot for about 4-5 hours before adding the other ingredients. Don't have a pressure cooker. I left out the tomato and carrots also. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States