Black Beans, Corn, and Yellow Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
This is a great simple dish! I only wish I had some cilantro lying around to throw in there...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Bazzo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I love this recipe! It's so easy. I made it as a topping for nachos, but will make it again as a side dish. I made it as stated in the recipe, but added some fresh cilantro. Easy to do in electric rice cooker. My whole family loved it, including my somewhat picky three year old!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
3.5 - This was simple and quick to make. I halved the recipe and it still made a ton! Flavor was mild and felt like it was missing something. Really enjoyed the corn in this though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna-Bat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Instead of using water, I substituted homemade turkey broth. I also threw in a healthy amount of fresh cilantro when I folded the rice in to the remaining ingredients. One of the best rice dishes we've had in a long time, even the kids inhaled it. NO LEFTOVERS. I made Dee's Roast Pork for Tacos and served this with it to make filling for warmed tortilla-type dinner.......great pairing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
its good. just bland. I added some cayenne pepper and garlic powder to spice it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Made as is, it's okay but pretty bland. I kept tasting it and tweaking and finally got it to where the family enjoyed it. Lots more lime juice, another tsp. of cumin, some chopped fresh tomato and sliced green onions and chopped cilantro did the trick. It's a good recipe to build on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Excellent as written -although the directions on my yellow rice called for 2 cups of water, and it needed it. I did however add some cilantro and quartered grape tomatoes, and a little garlic salt to our taste. My bf raved about it! A definite make-again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plympton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
I just made this for the first time. The rice was not cooked long enough (crunchy) so I suggest following the directions on the box then add the other stuff. It looked, smelled, and tasted yummy. But, after reading some other reviews who encouraged to add tomatoes, I decided to throw in my homemade pico di gallo I had in the fridge. OMG! I looked wonderful, and tasted just as good. Definately a keeper! Thank you for the base recipie and the suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thor, Iowa, USA
Living In: Pinetop, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
As stated before, very flexable as to what you put in it. A keeper for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SugarPlum♥
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
My family really enjoyed this and it was super easy to throw together. I cooked the rice according to the directions on the mix. It was very good served warm and I had some leftover the next day and it was also good as a cold dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarPlum♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States