Black Beans, Corn, and Yellow Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Excellent as written -although the directions on my yellow rice called for 2 cups of water, and it needed it. I did however add some cilantro and quartered grape tomatoes, and a little garlic salt to our taste. My bf raved about it! A definite make-again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plympton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
I just made this for the first time. The rice was not cooked long enough (crunchy) so I suggest following the directions on the box then add the other stuff. It looked, smelled, and tasted yummy. But, after reading some other reviews who encouraged to add tomatoes, I decided to throw in my homemade pico di gallo I had in the fridge. OMG! I looked wonderful, and tasted just as good. Definately a keeper! Thank you for the base recipie and the suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thor, Iowa, USA
Living In: Pinetop, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
As stated before, very flexable as to what you put in it. A keeper for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SugarPlum♥
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
My family really enjoyed this and it was super easy to throw together. I cooked the rice according to the directions on the mix. It was very good served warm and I had some leftover the next day and it was also good as a cold dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarPlum♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
This recipe is amazing. I made some substitutions, but not because it needed it. I did not have yellow rice so I used basmati rice and substituted the water for chicken broth. As other reviewers stated the amount of water is not enough so I added another cup of chicken broth. Also, I did not have a lime so I used a lemon which was just as good. This is a great recipe so enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
I prepared this recipe as written and it was excellent. I think it could be stretched with more rice, and I wouldn't mind adding more cumin and lime juice because I like bold flavor. The recipe seems to lend itself to variation, and I will likely try adobo seasoning in the next preparation and add green chiles or nopalitos. I would also pass the hot sauce for those who like it. All in all, it's a great vegetarian recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
I've never had nor prepared yellow rice before. The one change I did make was to use fresh corn rather than canned. My family really enjoyed the combination of the rice, corn and black beans. I served this with another AR recipe 'Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas', and we had a delicious meal. Thanks tahoegirl for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
I doctored this recipe so I'm only giving it 4 stars. I added some sauteed onion and minced garlic. I omitted the lime juice and cumin and used a packet of Goya sazon with cilantro. Really great side dish or vegetarian meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Staci
Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Very good & quite easy. I added more water - I'm sure it depends on exactly which "mix" you choose - but this went really well with our spicy grilled fish & salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
I really didn't know what to expect from this recipe as I've never made one of those yellow rice packages before. But this got such good reviews I thought I'd give it a try and I'm glad I did! I used home frozen corn (fresh off the cob before freezing) and the juice of a whole lime. I also added some fresh cilantro. I ate it plain for lunch but am looking forward to eating it in a tortilla shell tomorrow for lunch. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Barilla® Pasta with Corn, Black Beans, & Avocado

Iowa inspires a simple pasta salad with corn, beans, avocado, and cotija cheese.

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States