Black Beans, Corn, and Yellow Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Husband loves it!! Made exactly to directions. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Really great, simple recipe! I added garlic powder & Adobo seasoning to the black beans as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kreese

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brunswick, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I'm giving it five stars for versatility and taste. Ate it in a wrap w/some salsa. Next time I'll add more cumin plus some garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
This rice is healthy and every one like it, just added extra lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
This is a good recipe with the following additions: I sauted onion and garlic and added some diced tomato, I used 1/4 tsp of cumin but next time I will not put cumin at all. It turns out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
I love sweet potatoes and have a whole bunch of them on hand. I decided to try this recipe. Unfortunately I didn't have the chipotle spice so I just used curry powder instead. I don't like hot foods anyway so this wasn't a problem for me. I did roasted potatoes and just the smell alone make me hungry. Thank you so much for this very nice dinner meal for a cold winter night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
It was extremely bland unfortunately because the bean/corn/lime/cumin mix tasted so good. I added: mexican spice, paprika, salt and pepper, tabasco and slap ya mama spice to bring it up to taste better. Probably wouldn't make it again as a side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenock, Renfrewshire, Scotland, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
Recipe will vary depending on what brand of rice you use. Where I live (SF Bay Area) the chain grocery stores carry 3 different kinds of "yellow rice": (1) Indian - mostly flavored with saffron, (2) New Orleans Style - their website has flavor ingredients listed as onion, salt, red/green bell pepper, MSG, sugar, garlic, spices (incl. tumeric & red pepper); & (3) Spanish Style - flavored with chicken bouillion, chicken flavor, chicken powder, garlic, celery, more chicken, onions, bell pepper, coriander...the point being brand #3 has a ton of chicken flavor & is likely quite different in flavor than #2. I used #3 Goya Spanish Style & found it to be quite flavorful, though I did use 2 cups of water plus 1 Tbsp oil because that's what it says to use on the package. Adding in corn, beans, cumin, lime enhances the packaged rice & I'd give the flavor of this brand of rice prepped according to pkg directions 3 1/2 stars bumped up to 4 stars for being so easy to prep with pantry ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Very big hit in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
There was no way that amount of water matched that amount of rice, so I adjusted accordingly. The flavor was okay - the corn made a nice crunch. I wouldn't add the beans next time. I found them too squishy and not very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States