Black Beans con Jalapeno Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
Good but needs less salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ferry, Michigan, USA
Living In: New Era, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2005
I really liked this. The only change I will make next time is to reduce the salt to 1 teaspoon. Delicious with tortilla chips as a snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Athens, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
This recipe is wonderful. I let it sit in the icebox while I finished preparing the rest of our meal. It was very good as a side relish with our brown beans and ham but the next day I took the leftovers to work and it was even better with chips. The guys in the office loved it. I will definitely be making this again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
Fantastic and easy to prepare. I halved the amount of salt and I think I'll half the amount of sugar next time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
Wow, this makes a big batch. This recipe was great. I will use a little less salt next time. I did add an extra can of black beans and will add more hominy next time. Made this for a side with fajitas, ended up putting on the fajitas with cheese and sour cream,,,was wonderful! Took the extra to work and the gals couldn't leave it alone. Thanks, I plan on using this many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2004
OUTSTANDING!!! Made this last night for a Christmas party....it went fast. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2003
Perfect used as a salsa for dips and burritos. We all loved this recipe, and it is easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2003
This recipe is wonderful. It takes a little time to cut everything up, but once it's made you'll be glad you did. Let it sit for an hour or two before you eat it to let the salt and cumin get absorbed into the ingredients. I was a little skeptical about the combination of hominy and black beans because my family can be really picky, but they loved it. Serve it with some chips and enjoy!!! I used Pace MEDIUM hot sauce, but I think next time I will use the HOT sauce to give it a little extra bite. My kids liked it like I made it this time, it was pretty mild.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
This is an amazingly easy dish for potlucks. I simply increase or decrease the amount of Jalapeno depending on where I'm bringing it. People appreciate the fact that there is no meat, dairy, or oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2001
This is a real crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States