Black Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
A simple and quick recipe. Low fat and healthy! I added more garlic and more onions. Adding the spices and seasoning while sauteing the onions builds more flavor. I put in a pinch of a salt and pepper. I also used low sodium chicken stock instead of the using vegetable stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
We enjoyed this very much! I only used 1 can of black beans but I also added a can of corn and a can of Tex Mex style Rotel. I also used yellow rice and doubled the spices. My 11 year old who usually hates rice gobbled this up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
Made this with a few adjustments, added extra garlic, used chicken broth instead and added turkey kielbasa (just because I had it) and it was great as a tortilla stuffer. With salsa and sour cream, loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
I made this for a church function and it turned out great! I used other reviewers' suggestions and subbed chicken broth, added 1 can of Rotel tomatoes with jalepenos and lime, 1 can diced tomatoes, 1 can of white and yellow corn, and served chopped cilantro on the side. It was delicious with just the right amount of spice (I don't care for anything hotter than medium hot and this was between mild and medium hot). Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
This was so yummy. I made a few changes though... After I cooked the rice I added lime juice and zest, cilantro, and only 1 can of black beans. My hubby loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
Very good, but would benefit from a little Parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
This recipe has become a staple in my house. As is, it makes a great side dish. It is also very versatile. I sometimes substitute red beans for black beans. My favorite variation is 15 oz black beans, 15 oz corn and 10 oz tomatoes and chili peppers instead of just black beans. I also add 1/4 tsp black pepper. I like to substitute chicken broth for the vegetable broth. Add some chicken strips (Fajita style) and wrap in a tortilla for a nice meal. I found that the garlic may brown too much when saute'd with the onion right away so I saute the onion 2 minutes, the garlic 2 minutes and then follow the recipe from there on. I found that a 3 quart saucepan is the perfect size for this recipe. Best of all, it re-heats great in the microwave so it makes for a quick meal the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brewski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eatontown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Yummy, easy, and you can't mess it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
pretty bland... it has potential, but like most reviewers said, I had to majorly doctor it up. Will probably play around with it a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Exeter, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 683) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States