Black Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
We aren't big rice and bean eaters but for some reason I had a craving for it. Tried this, easy to make and we really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Delicious! After reading other reviews ... I too added lots of garlic (always add more than called for) added frozen corn, dash of extra garlic powder, added paprika - yummy. Next time I'll add some jalapenos ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
This is a staple in our house. We cut the recipe in half because of the high yield and add chopped cilantro. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
Boring. Very average. Had to add spices. Made a tomato and coriander salad (with lemon juice) on the side and served with fried halloumi to make it actually taste of something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ayesha A

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Good. I throw other ingredients in to make it my own. A squirt of lime really sets this off. Ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Great recipe! And so easy to make. I use a little more olive oil to sauté but that's just my preference. I often double this recipe for larger get togethers. Leave or take out the cayenne to suit your families taste. I like to make this with the sweet cornbread recipe on this site. I know, strange, but MAN it is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lodi, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Amazing~~just swapped the rice for quinoa b/c I love that. And this is actually something I can make on a regular basis, yay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Sweet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Very easy to make and was really good. Husband loved it. It is spicy so if you don't want it to be use half of the cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nina Johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
This is a great basic recipe! My family likes spicy so I jazzed it up with some chipotle seasoning and a hot chili powder, but it's certainly not necessary. Also, I had to add about 1/2 cup more broth (I used low sodium chicken) to keep it moist. All in all a great side dish! Thank you for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Georgetown, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Excellent! Doubled the garlic,heavy on the onions and used chicken broth. Even better when adding 1 lb. Andouille and/or Cajun Chicken sausauge sliced and a diced green bell pepper! I make this frequently now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 707) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States