Black Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Not bad...it was great, though, after I added double-spices and topped with cilantro and salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lemon Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
I made this with adding another heaping tsp of cayenne, 1 cup instant brown rice instead of the white rice, reduced the broth to 1 cup and cooked it for only 5 minutes. Then I added the beans and let the whole thing sit while we ate our salads. It was very moist and tasty! Way more than the two of us could eat at one meal. For the leftover, I will add a can of stewed tomatoes, a can of whole kernel corn drained, some more cumin and cayenne and some fresh lime juice. It will be filling enough to have as a main course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
we added corn, tomatoes and extra spices
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
Delicious! Loved this recipe:) It's easy and yummy! I didn't really change anything other than I didn't have any cayenne pepper so I used chipotle chill instead and it was good. I'll definitely be using this recipe often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anisa

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
3 out of 5 of us liked it. My 13 year old said she didn't like it but she couldn't stop eating it. I liked it. It was nice for a change. I added sausage and peas to the mix to make it a fast one pan meal. I will fix it again for a nice change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
After a few additions to this recipe it's a 5 for us. I used 1 cup of brown jasmine rice and also added a 28 oz. can of diced tomatoes. It takes more like 45 minutes to cook, but worth the wait! The spices quoted in the recipe we thought were perfect. I too not only drained but rinsed the black beans. We grilled some Johnsville brats and Bueno!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ymgill57

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nipigon, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Anthem, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
I usually use chicken broth. This dish is so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Never knew beans and rice could be so good. I replaced the white rice with brown. Even my kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Good but very bland. I added a can of corn, onion powder, chili powder, salt, more lime juice, and a half a cup of salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Great for my vegetarian family members and friends! Just enough "kick" to it! Cumin is crucial!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 676) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States