Black Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
This recipe has become a staple in my house. As is, it makes a great side dish. It is also very versatile. I sometimes substitute red beans for black beans. My favorite variation is 15 oz black beans, 15 oz corn and 10 oz tomatoes and chili peppers instead of just black beans. I also add 1/4 tsp black pepper. I like to substitute chicken broth for the vegetable broth. Add some chicken strips (Fajita style) and wrap in a tortilla for a nice meal. I found that the garlic may brown too much when saute'd with the onion right away so I saute the onion 2 minutes, the garlic 2 minutes and then follow the recipe from there on. I found that a 3 quart saucepan is the perfect size for this recipe. Best of all, it re-heats great in the microwave so it makes for a quick meal the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brewski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eatontown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Yummy, easy, and you can't mess it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
pretty bland... it has potential, but like most reviewers said, I had to majorly doctor it up. Will probably play around with it a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Exeter, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
I made this last night and we loved it. I did look at the comments of others and made some adjustments. I used brown rice, Chicken stock, 1 can black beans, 1 1/2 cups thawed frozen white corn and added about 1/4 tsp adobo. I chopped fresh tomato topped the rice with the tomato on our plates for some texture, temperature and color contrast. I served this with the Slow Cooker Pernil Pork and the meal was a total hit! For those who indicated their rice didn't cook: No matter what a recipe says, you need to cook the rice following the directions on the package. I used brown rice that cooks for 45 minutes per package.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Powhatan, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Very tasty...and made enough to feed an army! I omitted the cayenne and it was still flavorful and delicious. Used homemade beef broth instead of the vegetable. Made a great side, but was a phenomenal enchilada filler with some taco beef, fresh spinach, corn, and Mexican cheese blend. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Really good and easy to make. I did everything as written only I used chicken broth instead of vegetable, and I added some salt. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Delicious! I am going vegetarian but my family is not planning to. But with recipes like this, they are totally happy without meat! Love the spices. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
The best I've found!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Starr, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Anderson, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
He used granulated chicken boullion in the water for rice and we only had one can of black beans, so we added a can of corn and fresh chopped tomatoes. And he doubled the cumin and cayenne. This dish is fabulous!! Full of flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Faler-Sisco

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 707) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States