Black Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2003
This recipe was excellent. However, I did follow other's advice. I added 1 can tomatoes w/chiles, 1 can of corn, 1 can of beans, 2tsp cumin, 2 tsp tumeric, splash of lime, chicken broth. This will definitely be added to my menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
925 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
For a low fat recipe, I think this is great. it does need a little "spicing up," but nothing major. After adding the black beans, I added 1/4 tsp garlic powder, 1/8 tsp paprika, and a pinch of cayenne pepper. I make this recipe at least every other week. A great way to get a lot of fiber and protein without a lot of fat and carbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
483 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2002
Great recipe! The only addition I made was some diced tomatos and extra garlic. Great tortilla filling! Even my meat-eater hubby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
324 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2003
This was delicious! Instead of vegetable broth I used a can of chicken broth. Also doubled the garlic and added a can of Italian style stewed tomatoes with juice and a small can of corn, drained. The cumin and cayenne pepper went together well. Not bland at all with the extra additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2003
Good recipe!! I didn't have enough beans, so I used 1 1/2 cups frozen corn to make up the difference. Also, I added a bunch of whole green olives with pimientos and I highly recommend that!! And, I added lots of lemon juice, more cayenne, and more cumin.... I actually added too much cayenne but today it had toned down a bit and the flavors had melded so it was even better! I think this would only be 3 stars without the adjustments, and what made it into five stars is that it tastes FABULOUS with cottage cheese! I don't mean that you should mix it in with the beans and rice, just put some on your plate and then get a bit of cottage cheese on your fork along with the beans and rice for each bite. I think the cottage cheese tastes so great with it because of the difference between hot and cold and spicy and mild. Definitely try the cottage cheese! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
Very good! We really enjoyed this with our Carnitas. I used chicken broth rather than vegetable broth,and added chopped fresh tomato and minced fresh jalapeno in with the beans. Pleasantly seasoned, subtle flavor, and just perfect as a side dish to Mexican entrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
Boring! I made it per the recipe, tasted it, and added cilantro, and a can Rold Gold Mexican Fiesta Tomatoes, much better. Thanks anyway Robyn ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2002
This recipe was VERY disappointing! I ended up adding an extra cup of broth because the rice wasn't finished cooking yet. My husband and I love spices, and this was extremely bland, despite the fact that I added about three times the amount of spices to it. The only way I'll make this recipe again is if I'm in a hurry and have nothing else to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2002
Very easy, tasty recipe. Careful, though, if you are not a fan of spicy food, this dish can be too hot. Although my boyfriend liked it, next time I will cut the pepper by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I am rating the recipe as written 4-stars - but with a few minor changes it quickly becomes a 5-star recipe! I made the following changes: 1 tsp granulated garlic instead of 2 cloves (non in the house), chicken broth instead of veggie, 2 tsp cumin, only 1 can of black beans, plus added 1 can of corn (drained) and 1 can of Rotel tomatoes (undrained). My husband loved it and has asked that it be added to our menu on a regular basis. We used it as a burrito filling, a quesadilla filling, and a stand-alone dish. I also added extra chicken broth to some of the leftovers and made it into soup. The mixture would also be good on top of nachos or combined with chicken and cheese to make a casserole. Cheese and/or sour cream are good compliments. Next time, I will lower the cayenne to 1/8 tsp (the Rotel adds enough heat for my taste) and use 2 cans of beans (black, pinto, and kidney would all work well in this dish).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BONNIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austintown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake Milton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 686) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States