Black Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
Awesome! I used some recommendations listed here. Chicken broth, diced tomatoes, corn and no additional spices. This is a new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
I thought it was great - just added more pepper, dash of oregano and a vegetable cube. I used the water that the dried beans were soaked in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
This cannot be a diabetic recipe if it uses white rice which is known to strongly elevate blood sugar do to the body's response to turn the rice directly into sugar. If you really want to try this, use brown rice instead. If you don't believe me, check your blood glucose level after eating white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
I really enjoyed this. i was really craving this meal for a while and it hit the spot. My husband thought it was a little boring though. I added more of the cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilyalmond

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
Yet ANOTHER excellent, easy-to-make dish from this site, love it! I made this per the recipe, yet like other reviewers used chicken broth & added 1 can of fiesta corn, 1 can of zesty diced tomatoes, and 1-1/2 cans of black beans, chopped cilantro, and fresh lime juice from 2 small limes -- DELISH DISH!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
This is a definite 5 star recipe after following other's recommendations that is. Chicken broth, 2 tsp cumin, 2tsp tumeric, 1 tsp paprika, 1 tsp salt, and along with the cayenne add 1 can tomatoes w/chilis. I also added some green onions just because we had them and it really added to the color and appearance. On it's own this recipe is ok just very bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
Simple and delicious! I substituted chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
A simple and quick recipe. Low fat and healthy! I added more garlic and more onions. Adding the spices and seasoning while sauteing the onions builds more flavor. I put in a pinch of a salt and pepper. I also used low sodium chicken stock instead of the using vegetable stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
We enjoyed this very much! I only used 1 can of black beans but I also added a can of corn and a can of Tex Mex style Rotel. I also used yellow rice and doubled the spices. My 11 year old who usually hates rice gobbled this up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
Made this with a few adjustments, added extra garlic, used chicken broth instead and added turkey kielbasa (just because I had it) and it was great as a tortilla stuffer. With salsa and sour cream, loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 700) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States