Black Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
Delicious! I added half of lime juice, cilantro, and some green onion. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
This was great! I used two cans of "sensibly seasoned" black beans instead of plain, and it didn't need any extra spice at all. Very easy and will definitely be making this one again. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
If I could give this 3 and half stars, that would be ideal. :) This is a great starter recipe, but definitely needed a bit of tweaking. For me, it was too much cayenne, not nearly enough salt, and definitely needed more cumin. I doubled the cumin, used full salt chicken broth, flavored the broth with the cumin and cayenne to infuse the rice with the flavors. I saw someone suggest using lime, but I didn't have any. However I did have some Chili Lime rub, so I added that, yum! If I'd had cilantro and salsa, they would have been welcome additions. I made homemade tortillas to go with, and accidentally oversalted them, but it evened out with the slightly bland rice and beans. It's definitely a great starter, but it needs your own flare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by reedwoman814

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
Awesome! I used some recommendations listed here. Chicken broth, diced tomatoes, corn and no additional spices. This is a new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
I thought it was great - just added more pepper, dash of oregano and a vegetable cube. I used the water that the dried beans were soaked in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
This cannot be a diabetic recipe if it uses white rice which is known to strongly elevate blood sugar do to the body's response to turn the rice directly into sugar. If you really want to try this, use brown rice instead. If you don't believe me, check your blood glucose level after eating white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
I really enjoyed this. i was really craving this meal for a while and it hit the spot. My husband thought it was a little boring though. I added more of the cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilyalmond

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
Yet ANOTHER excellent, easy-to-make dish from this site, love it! I made this per the recipe, yet like other reviewers used chicken broth & added 1 can of fiesta corn, 1 can of zesty diced tomatoes, and 1-1/2 cans of black beans, chopped cilantro, and fresh lime juice from 2 small limes -- DELISH DISH!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
This is a definite 5 star recipe after following other's recommendations that is. Chicken broth, 2 tsp cumin, 2tsp tumeric, 1 tsp paprika, 1 tsp salt, and along with the cayenne add 1 can tomatoes w/chilis. I also added some green onions just because we had them and it really added to the color and appearance. On it's own this recipe is ok just very bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
Simple and delicious! I substituted chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 683) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States