Black Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Loved this recipe! It's a great base for a lot of Mexican dishes and makes a great meal in itself. My husband and I are trying to go vegetarian and this will be a staple in our diet. I plan to add some salsa, corn tortillas, and enchilada sauce to the leftovers for another dinner this week. Thank you for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
The ingredients make a tasty dish but I think the cumin should be sauted with the rice instead of mixing in at the end as the spice needs some time to cook to release flavours. I used chicken broth as that was what I have on hand. Easy way to have black beans and rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Fabulous! Easy to prepare, perfect amount of spice, and HEALTHY! 3.5 cups of beans is equal to two 15 oz cans. I only had one can of black beans, so I used a can of kidney beans as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Definitely a good base but I did double the garlic and added fresh chopped tomatoes. I also added 1/2 tsp of oregano and chopped a can of olives which I added at the end. Kids and wife loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midvale, Utah, USA
Living In: Herriman, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
This is really great. I just added parsley for a little something extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Loved this! Can be used as a main or side dish. I used the reviewers suggestions plus a couple of my own. Used chicken broth instead of veggie, 2 1/4 tsp cumin, 2 tsp tumeric, 1 tsp salt, can of fire roasted diced tomatoes with chilles, a tbsp of apple cider vinegar (gives a nice tang). It was SO flippin' good. I served it as a main course with whole wheat tortillas, shredded cheese, and corn as a veg side. Will make my variation again and again. Yum. I docked it a star because the original recipe wasn't satisfactory, but it is so easily remedied with reviewers suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
A nice recipe, although I did change it slightly based upon other reviews. I used brown rice (obviously this increased the cooking time, and so I had to add more chicken stock as it cooked), and added a can of chopped tomatoes. I doubled the garlic, cumin and cayenne pepper, with some oregano. and added fresh cilantro right at the end. After re-reading the recipe I notice I only used one can of beans, but the results were great. I served this with corn tortillas with a little cheese and fresh tomatoes on the side and the results were awesome. Very satisfying, and no missing the meat! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Very simple and delicious. Added cilantro and hot sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Xenia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
This is amazing! I also added Italian sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Delicious! My favorite black beans and rice recipe thus far. I added frozen corn and canned diced tomatoes and used 6 or 7 garlic cloves. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 696) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States