Black Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
3 out of 5 of us liked it. My 13 year old said she didn't like it but she couldn't stop eating it. I liked it. It was nice for a change. I added sausage and peas to the mix to make it a fast one pan meal. I will fix it again for a nice change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
After a few additions to this recipe it's a 5 for us. I used 1 cup of brown jasmine rice and also added a 28 oz. can of diced tomatoes. It takes more like 45 minutes to cook, but worth the wait! The spices quoted in the recipe we thought were perfect. I too not only drained but rinsed the black beans. We grilled some Johnsville brats and Bueno!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ymgill57

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nipigon, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Anthem, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
I usually use chicken broth. This dish is so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Never knew beans and rice could be so good. I replaced the white rice with brown. Even my kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Good but very bland. I added a can of corn, onion powder, chili powder, salt, more lime juice, and a half a cup of salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Great for my vegetarian family members and friends! Just enough "kick" to it! Cumin is crucial!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Makes too large a quantity
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PunchDrunk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vineland, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Very good, I would cut the cayenne pepper in half and/or possibly use freesh peppers instead. Also, we added a can of corn and wrapped it in a flour tortilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
My family loves this as a side dish with fish tacos and I have added chicken and other meats to make a meal out of this recipe. I add fresh lime juice and this really sets the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
added 1 can corn and 1 can diced tomatos. It was very good but more of a light lunch or side dish item. I also used wild rice in place of white rice but cooked per directions. Great little dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 672) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States