Black Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
Absolutely loved it. This was my 1st time making rice and beans from scratch. I usually buy the Goya boxed kind. I didn't change anything but I did add about a cup and a half extra chicken broth while it was cooking. I also added some fresh cilantro at the end and served it with garlic and lemon sautéed shrimp. Even my 3 year old loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
Awesome! I cut back on the Cayenne pepper, added some Adobo spice, 1 can of drained corn and 1 can "diced" tomatoes but I chopped these up before I added to the rice. Delicious! Thank you for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2015
I made this recipe two nights ago...I did change it to the following: Step 1 remained the same. For step 2 I added chicken broth (slightly more than 1 1/2 cups), a can of whole kernel corn, a can of Rotel tomatoes (with green peppers) and two cans of black beans, one Ranch style and one plain. Here's the weird thing...I added the suggested spices, but when I tasted it, it really lacked salt to me. So I added salt to taste. When it was all done it was hotter than hell!! So next time I will omit the cayenne altogether...the heat from the Rotel is enough. After a couple of days, the heat has dissipated and today (the 3rd day) it is absolute perfect. Wonderful, delicious, inexpensive meal. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
Really Good! I added a can of Rotel as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chasityk5592

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Springs, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2015
I changed up this recipe quite a bit actually, so the 5 stars is for my own version! Here is what I did: 1. I used leeks instead of onions (just a personal preference), doubled the number of garlic cloves, and used jalapenos as well. 2. Instead of white rice, I went the healthier route and did multi colored quinoa instead. 3. I used chicken broth instead of veggie broth for more flavor. 4. I added fire-roasted diced tomatoes with its juice just before putting in the chicken broth. 5. I doubled all the spices and added turmeric as well. 6. For some more protein, I also added some shrimp in the last 8 minutes or so for it to cook. It only took one pan and it was FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
Good side dish! I read some of the other reviews and saw they mentioned the recipe could be bland so I did make a few changes for our preferences. I used chicken broth instead of vegetable because its what we had on hand, I added a can of rotel to the mix and some chili powder. Loved the flavor and how easy the recipe was. Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K-Dub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2015
Good base recipe. Added Sofrito and more garlic...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
Very good. Next time I would add a can of Rotel and maybe some roasted corn to make it a more rounded dish. I liked the 'bite'...not too much, just great flavor. Almost made me feel like saying 'Y'all' or 'bless your heart' or 'caddywonked'. Very southern.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
Not bad at all. I personally wanted a bit more salt, you may want something else, but in any case it'll be at least a solid start for most I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
I'll never make another boxed mix again. This was excellent. Cayenne produced a little bite, cumin levels were great for my family. Forgot to measure the beans and used 1 can, which was enough as a side dish. Not quite enough beans for a main dish. I'll use 2 cans next time, which is probably closer to the recipe anyway. Might have to up the spices if I do add more beans, as it was just perfect the way I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 707) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States