Black Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Sazon doesn't have MSG.. and although this recipe is extremely different than my usual black bean recipe, it's not too bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Very easy. Had all ingredients on hand. Made with Salsa Chicken recipe from this site and rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wunchie

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
We really liked this dish. I paired it with grilled chicken rather than making it a main dish alone. The beans were very very flavorful, but I couldn't help myself...I did drain and rinse the beans. The liquid they're in just seems too gooey to me. I used buttered jasmine rice with the beans, and it was a meal we'll definitely repeat. Also I had to leave out the recaito because my husband and I both have those weird taste buds that make cilantro taste like soap. Nevertheless, the beans were still perfect for us. Thanks, Goya!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy in Delaware

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
Nothing out of this world or rocking my socks off, but it was good paired with the (amazing) Goya fajita recipe. I am pretty sure this is a personal preference; usually my beans are mashed and refried! I may try making some black refried beans next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilkaisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
We leave out the olive oil to make a fat free beans and rice and use brown rice rather than white. Quick and easy alternative to boiling dried beans or using a slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joey Joan
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
A good tasting recipe I made my own Sazon seasoning and Jasmine rice and paired this combo off with a good steak and salad. I had a happy well fed husband at the end of the meal and a request to keep this dinner in the monthly line up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
Very nice recipe, enjoyed today with Goya's Ropa Vieja recipe. One thing's for sure, you do NOT need a 4-qt pan for 1 can of beans. A little more time consuming than my normal black beans, but I think it was worth the effort. These beans were loaded with flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by Lindseye117
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
I added extra garlic to mine. I also lightly rinsed my beans and added salted chicken broth instead of the wine. For my rice, I used Goya yellow rice. It was a simple meal and great addition to our Mexican night at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindseye117

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Friendswood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Life Tastes Good
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
My husband liked these, but he likes the other black bean and rice recipe on this site better - as do I because it is easier to make, but these were flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Life Tastes Good

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
It was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States