Black Beans a la Olla Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
Mindful of hubs' sensitive innards, I left out the cayenne but this sure wasn't short on flavor! I added salt, used less cilantro (we're just beginning to like this stuff and didn't want to push it!) and more fresh, red-ripe tomatoes and simmered it a little longer than directed to really meld and bring out the flavors in that wonderful sauce. Just delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Jenny
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
This was a great dish, but I wish I had let it simmer longer. If I made it again, I might even let it sit in the crock pot for a few hours on low. It was great over rice, spicy but the perfect amount. I also used it as a filling in burritoes with cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Photo by STEVELICH
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
This was a great flavorful recipe. I took the other reviews advice and let it simmer longer. I served it over rice the first night, and used the rice/leftovers + cheese for vegetarian burritos the second night. When I make this again I will use two cans of black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEVELICH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I made these for dinner and it was delish! I made one slight alteration, I added 3/4 cup of coconut milk which acts as an anti-flatulence, especially with gas causing beans. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
This was SO GOOD and super easy. It was just spicy enough. I followed other reviews and let it simmer a while longer. My husband used the leftovers for burritos the next day. We will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pacislander

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camarillo, California, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Great recipe. Just the right amount of spice and easy to make. I used a pound of dried beans instead of canned. Just put them in the slow cooker with about 5 cups of water for a few hours before adding the rest of the ingredients. It takes about 8 hours this way. Left out the cilantro because my hubby won't allow it, but I think it would be a wonderful addition if you don't have picky eaters in the house. Added a splash of vinegar toward the end to fix the lack of umph. Otherwise, I wouldn't change a thing about this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jefferson, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Boone, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Picked up another can of black beans just so i can make this again. It was very good. Great side dish for any mexican/latin meal.Followed recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
I loved this recipe! I was skeptical at first, assuming it was going to be bland or boring...but nope, I was WRONG. The beans, along with the freshly diced tomatoes and onions were super good. I like a lot of heat, so I added more cayenne than recommended. Served this with turkey burgers and sweet potato fries last night for a perfectly spicy meal. My boyfriend wasn't sure if he liked it or not, since he is used to the standard baked beans as a side dish. I think next time I will either serve it over rice or add some water/extra tomato sauce to it to make it into a chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BacardiGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manly, Iowa, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
Loved these - just wish I would of used less cilantro. As hard as I try I am not a huge fan of this herb. Next time I will stick to my tastes and I will enjoy this even more. Thanks for this great dish kimmers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Had many people amazed (myself included) at the great flavor of this - freezes well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States