Black Beans a la Olla Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
This was pretty good but it was very similar to my usual Black Bean Chili, which has more veggies. I have no complaints about this recipe though, we just prefer the other one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
Really tasty. I used 2-16 ounce cans of black beans and served in a warm tortilla. I have to agree with other posters that this is spicy just enough! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Very very good. I thought about using a can of diced tomatoes instead of the fresh, but so glad that I didn't. I simmered this for about 30 min. while my "burrito pie" from this site was baking and it got kind of soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Picked up another can of black beans just so i can make this again. It was very good. Great side dish for any mexican/latin meal.Followed recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by STEVELICH
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
This was a great flavorful recipe. I took the other reviews advice and let it simmer longer. I served it over rice the first night, and used the rice/leftovers + cheese for vegetarian burritos the second night. When I make this again I will use two cans of black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEVELICH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
Very delicious, very easy. I used dried black beans instead of canned only because canned beans make me gag. Put all ingredients (except cilantro and green onion) in a pressure cooker w/ 1 cup of water and cooked for 35 minutes. Used slow-release method (for you pressure cookers')...perfect perfect side dish. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian J.
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Had many people amazed (myself included) at the great flavor of this - freezes well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
This was delicious. Made according to the recipe, other than substituting flat leaf parsley for the cilantro, as some people in my family refuse to eat cilantro. Easy to put together, and filling, as well as tasty. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
Mindful of hubs' sensitive innards, I left out the cayenne but this sure wasn't short on flavor! I added salt, used less cilantro (we're just beginning to like this stuff and didn't want to push it!) and more fresh, red-ripe tomatoes and simmered it a little longer than directed to really meld and bring out the flavors in that wonderful sauce. Just delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
This was SO GOOD and super easy. It was just spicy enough. I followed other reviews and let it simmer a while longer. My husband used the leftovers for burritos the next day. We will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pacislander81

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camarillo, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States