Black Beans a la Olla Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Great recipe! Going to make this again, nice and hearty. Also worked well in taco salad, with some mexi-ranch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob and Ash

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
All the onions, garlic and cilantro just make this dish! It tastes and looks wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
My kids and I really liked this. We used it for burritos topped with sour cream and cheddar cheese. I added an extra 1/2 can of black beans. I used canned tomatoes as that is what I had on hand. I also didn't have cilantro so used 1 Tb of coriander in it's place. Will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Loved it! I used less cilantro ... still getting a taste for it. I added some salt, pepper, and simmered it for 1 hour. Next time, I would double it and cook it in the crock pot. Just enough spice. We love garlic and my husband is an onion lover!! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Wrzesinski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
This dish is amazing..we served it as a component for fajitas which just included chicken, rice and cheese along with this....it is sooo good. I decreased the pepper a little, with little ones in the house, but everything else was the same..delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southampton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This recipe is fantastic. I followed the recipe but did let it simmer a little longer to make it thicker. This is spicy (which I loved) but you may want to cut down the cayenne pepper if you are not a spice lover. The next time I make this, I will probably add more beans. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bsuever

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Absolutely delicious! I couldn't find a 19 oz can of black beans, so I used one 26 oz can. Also, two smaller onions worked fine for me. I simmered longer and added in the cilantro during the last few minutes, so it retained its freshness and color. Thanks for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
This was a great recipe. I don't even like beans but had to try it, because it looked so good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
This is an excellent recipe just the way it is. The first day we eat it over rice. The second day I add rice to it and some shreaded chicken and make it into enchiladas. Yummy! I use 1, 28 oz can diced tomatoes in place of sauce and fresh
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Wow, This dish is amazing! Yummmmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seymour, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States