Black Beans a la Olla Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
A spicy, unique side dish. Definitely worth trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sagemoon

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: St. George, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
After all of the positive reviews I was really excited to try this recipe. I was sorely disappointed, however. It's not that it's inedible, it's just that the tomato flavor was so overwhelming I couldn't even taste the black beans, even though I used the 28 oz can. When I first made it, I added some other spices to try to balance out the flavors after I tasted how tomato-ey it was. When that didn't help I add a spoon of sugar (which I always add to my pasta sauce) and it helped somewhat. Still I would never make this again. I'm still trying to force myself to finish it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
Loved these - just wish I would of used less cilantro. As hard as I try I am not a huge fan of this herb. Next time I will stick to my tastes and I will enjoy this even more. Thanks for this great dish kimmers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
This was delicious! I only had one large onion (it was enough) and had to use Rotel tomatoes instead of fresh diced. I let it cook for about 30 min and served over brown rice. Husband LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Borger, Texas, USA
Living In: Ripon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
evryone liked but it is spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Used Can Of Diced Tomatoes And A Couple Dashes Of Cilantro. Try With Burritos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lina Hershberger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Great beans. The only change I really made was instead of 16 oz tomato sauce, I used 8 and then added in a part of a can of diced fire roasted tomatoes with chilis - had them leftover and wanted to use them up. I'll make this again.. was really yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Really liked this. Thought there would be too many onions, but this really had a nice taste and not too oniony at all. I cut down on the amount of cumin and cayenne pepper and it still turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Just okay for me, nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zoe-zoe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States