Black Beans a la Olla Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Very nice dish. I'm always browsing for new recipes. I found this recipe randomly and decided to try it out. Great blend of flavours. However, I decided to be bold and use 1 1/2 tspn of cayenne, since I like the heat. Great flavour, but VERY spicy. I will definitely try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefAl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Good recipe. The cilantro is quite overpowering, if I make it again I will put less in or leave it out all together. Served over rice with baguette on the side. Went well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Fun and tasty side dish! Even my father (picky eater) complimented the chef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
I loved this recipe! I was skeptical at first, assuming it was going to be bland or boring...but nope, I was WRONG. The beans, along with the freshly diced tomatoes and onions were super good. I like a lot of heat, so I added more cayenne than recommended. Served this with turkey burgers and sweet potato fries last night for a perfectly spicy meal. My boyfriend wasn't sure if he liked it or not, since he is used to the standard baked beans as a side dish. I think next time I will either serve it over rice or add some water/extra tomato sauce to it to make it into a chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BacardiGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manly, Iowa, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
So good. I used two 15 oz cans of black beans. I like spicy, so I thought it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
wow. this is delicious. and i very rarely like black beans. i added a can of red kidney beans because i couldn't find pinto beans like recommended by others; i also used a 15oz can of diced tomatoes instead of the tomato sauce and fresh tomatoes. let it simmer a couple of hours. will def. make again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly and it was SO GOOD. The only thing I would do different next time is to use reduced-sodium tomato sauce because the sauce was a little to salty. I loved the chopped garlic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Very good. I cut back on the cayenne and cilantro since my husband isn't a huge fan and also added some grilled marinated-chicken. Simmered for close to 30 min overall and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I made these for dinner and it was delish! I made one slight alteration, I added 3/4 cup of coconut milk which acts as an anti-flatulence, especially with gas causing beans. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Took the advice of another reviewer and added a can of pinto beans, as well. Enjoyed this spicy and beautiful side dish, but there are just a couple things that I would do differently the next time. First, I would peel the fresh tomatoes (didn't like the shriveled skin in the beans) and would cut the cayenne pepper to 1/4 tsp (that's just a taste preference). Served with blackened chicken and cilantro-lime rice (both from the AR site), fresh pineapple spears and watermelon wedges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States