Black Beans a la Olla Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
Great! I didn't have any cilantro, so I added fresh basil instead! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
We love a kick to our food and this filled the bill as written without over powering - (I like a 3/5 hot level so I still get flavor not just heat). Our cans are in ml so I used a full can of tomato sauce that was over 15 ounces so would have been too runny to eat so I cooked up some basmatic rice and mixed in as well. Of course this stretched to number of serving the dish made and we ended up eating leftovers as burritos and loved them. Definitely will make again. Habanero peppers also give this a little extra kick in the burritos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jancamp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beamsville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
mmmm, very good! will make again for sure :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
This was okay. It was a lot thicker than I expected. I guess that's how people are able to make it into burritos the next day. I will try that tomorrow. I only put one onion, and it was a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I used parsley instead of cilantro. It was very different and surprisingly good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
I made this dish for a monthy foreign food nite. Following comments from other reviews, I simmered much longer- about 2 hours while I prepared other parts of the meal. It's just awesome. We served it over rice, and everyone loved it. Rave reviews on leftovers the next day as well.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ford, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
This is delicious! I didn't have fresh cilantro so I subbed about 3 tablespoons of dried. Coordinated nicely with cheesy chipotle mashed potatoes, also on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Great recipe. Just the right amount of spice and easy to make. I used a pound of dried beans instead of canned. Just put them in the slow cooker with about 5 cups of water for a few hours before adding the rest of the ingredients. It takes about 8 hours this way. Left out the cilantro because my hubby won't allow it, but I think it would be a wonderful addition if you don't have picky eaters in the house. Added a splash of vinegar toward the end to fix the lack of umph. Otherwise, I wouldn't change a thing about this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jefferson, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Boone, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Super yummy & easy to make! I've made it over and over again. It's great over brown rice, and I plan to use it as a filler for burritos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
I love side dishes that I can throw together on a wim with things I keep around... and an added bonus is that the flavors only get better the longer it simmers. So I decided to prepare this to go with Chili-rubbed pork with apricot bbq glaze...I got this started while I prepared the rest of the meal and dinner was ready in now time. I skipped the cilantro, as my bf thinks it tastes like soap... This paired very nicely with our pork and basmati rice. Makes fabulous leftovers for lunch too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States