Black Bean Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
This soup is absolutely delicious! I made a few changes to make it thicker and tastier. I added 3 cloves of garlic, added extra chili powder, added 2.5 cups of chicken broth instead of 4 cups of vegetable stock, added chopped celery (2 stalks) when I added the corn, and used 3 cans of beans instead of 2 (1.5 in the blender and 1.5 as whole beans). I like using the Del Monte Fiesta Corn when making this recipe because the pieces of pepper add a little more spice. All in all, a GREAT soup. I made it for my parents and my 13-year old sister and we ate the entire pot in one sitting. My sister is the pickiest eater ever and she loved it, so that says alot about how good it was. Thanks so much for sharing this with us, DeeDee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
576 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
This soup is some of the best I've ever tasted! BUT, after reading a few reviews about it being 'watery' and 'bland', I: reduced the broth to 2 cups; added an extra can of beans (not pureed); used 2 tsp cumin; 2 cloves of garlic; added 1/3 c cilantro; plus I left out the corn. With a little Greek yogurt (or sour cream) on top... WOW!! Incredible. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
314 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
This is a wonderful soup recipe!!! I followed directions exactly the first time, but the second time around added a zucchini and about 1T of chopped fresh cilantro; used frozen corn instead of canned (less sodium); garnished with shredded Mont.Jack cheese and served with warm buttered flour tortillas. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
213 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
Fantastic soup! I added about a cup of celery, a green pepper, and a sprinkling of thyme with the cumin and chili powder. I also cut down on the vegetable stock to 2 1/2 cups(thanks to those who advised against 4 cups), but added another 1/2 cup when re-heating because it thickened after the first meal. Filling, very tasty, very healthy wonderful soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alliance, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2002
This recipe is wonderful! Usually black bean soup is thick and tastes like nothing, but black beans. I actually like the boring old black bean soup that I just described, but this recipe is ten times better! You can taste the onions and carrots and corn. It has wondeful flavor! I will definitely be making this again. I put a little bit of shredded cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2002
This was *fantastic.* I was in the mood more for a stew than a soup, so I made a few changes...added a pound of thin sliced beef strips (marinated), a few more carrots, and some green pepper and sauted it all with the onion and garlic. Drained it, and finished the recipe as its written (3 c stock instead of 4)...except that I added 3/4 cup rice at the end, making a delicious thick, hearty stew. Mmmmm...a feast served with garlic bread and applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VALIERRAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2002
This is delicious! It tasted good on a warm summer night and I can't wait to make it for winter meals. Recommend using less broth (2 1/2 to 3 cups) to make it thicker. It has a great texture and flavor! thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
Wonderful--I was not disappointed--my 13-yr-old son couldn't eat enough of it and said it was the best soup I ever made. My only addition was to add celery and I cooked it longer than suggested, as I cut my vegetables in chunks as we like it that way, so it took a little longer for the vegetables to cook--also, extra cooking time helped thicken it. Nutritious, delicious, and economical--what more could you ask? Definitely a Must Try! I'll be making again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2002
Excellent soup! I made mine with chicken stock and chopped the carrots in the food processor because I don't like cooked carrots, but wanted the flavor....it was wonderful! My fiance and I really enjoyed it! We used chicken stock and canned corn that is labeled "no salt added", so it made it even healthier! I will be taking left-overs to work tomorrow and will definately be making this recipe again! thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Excellent soup, and I'm not even that crazy about vegetable soups! I added an additional can of black beans, a little bit of celery, some green bell pepper and some mexican spices. I simmered mine for a few hours and added the corn and some arborio rice the last 30 minutes of cooking. Next time I'll throw in some spinach. This is definitely one of those soups you can add just about anything to and it comes out great. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 780) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States