Black Bean Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Family liked it. I did the 2 c. of vege broth but also used the liquid from two of the cans of black beans. (I blended a 3rd can with a can of diced tomatoes). I doubled the cumin, also. Very good over rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
This recipe is a great base soup. I took a lot of liberties with it. I added celery, a red bell pepper, and at least twice the garlic. Spice wise, I added coriander, basil, thyme & a bit of ginger (trust me!!). Last, and most important, sriracha and Worcestershire sauce. Seriously, best soup ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
This was delicious! I also added zucchini. Was great for leftovers too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Excellent soup! I had kale that needed to be used in the fridge so I chopped and added it to the onion in the pan. I love Worcestershire added to tomatoes and it was a good call in this soup. Soup should be a creative pot of leftover wonders. This recipe provides an excellent base to your creative powers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoLaB

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I followed the recipe almost , I put two cups of stock instead of 4. Other then that it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
This was delicious but I made a few changes. I can't eat too much beans so I took out one can of the black beans. First I sautéed the onions, garlic, carrots, and spices and threw in the tomatoes. Then I added the vegetable broth and 1 can of sliced potatoes (that substituted for the extra can of beans). I boiled it until the carrots softened. Then I puréed with an immersion blender. Then added the corn and beans. I adjusted the salt and added pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Added chicken breast, cut the stock in half and added cut Roma tomatoes. Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I made it just as the recipe called for and it was bland. Really bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
This was an amazing recipe my family loved it! I tweaked it a little bit. I added two cans of pureed stewed tomatoes and didn't purée any beans other than that this recipe came out tasting perfect. I made some garlic bread for dipping into the soup it was fantastic! Thank you! I rate this soup 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
This soup was really good and very healthy! Only changes I made were...I used no sodium vegetable broth and no sodium stewed tomatoes, just added 1 clove of garlic, pureed the 1 can of stewed tomatoes with some left over meat pasta sauce and then pureed the 1 can of black beans into that! Oh...and I only added 1 teaspoon of the chili powder because I wanted to make sure my 3 year old daughter would eat the soup! We all loved it! I garnished it with chopped cilantro, diced avocado and a little bit of light sour cream and it was delicious! You could also crunch some tortilla chips in it if you wanted to! It definitely was a great way to use up the rest of my meat pasta sauce and it flavored the soup really nice! A must try because it is super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Jett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orland Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Barrington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 775) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States