Black Bean Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2002
This is a very flavorful spread. My husband and I both really liked it a lot and will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2000
This is wonderful on baked tortilla chips, too. This is high in fiber, so it's filling and takes the "edge" off before dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Richardson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2001
This is excellent! Wonderful on pita triangles, crackers, or broccoli!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Living In: Olsburg, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2001
Very simple to make yet tastes great. Also versatile in nature. It can be used as sandwhich spread, vegetable dip or sauce for polenta etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
This is such a great recipe! I am not into "spice" so I use mild salsa and just a little bit of hot sauce. This makes a great dip with tortilla chips and it's very creamy. Everyone loves the taste and likes that it's healthy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2003
Very tasty, and healthy. Though a bit too much cumin but still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2004
Good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOTTSBELA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2004
Very, very good. Instead of using cooked black beans, I used canned black beans; drained and rinsed. Since I used two cans, I doubled everything else. I blended it all in a food processor, my blender couldn't handle it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Verena
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2005
Good dip! I did change it a little bit by adding 1/2 avocado (for little creamier consistency and it is a healthy type of fat), 1-2 Tbsp lime juice, 1 Tbsp chili powder and cut the cumin to 1 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
This was very easy and good! I substituted cream cheese for the cottage cheese because I didn't have any. Then I wrapped some of the spread up in a tortilla and browned both sides in canola oil. I added some cheddar cheese and a little sour cream. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States