Black Bean Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2000
This is wonderful on baked tortilla chips, too. This is high in fiber, so it's filling and takes the "edge" off before dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Richardson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2001
This is excellent! Wonderful on pita triangles, crackers, or broccoli!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Living In: Olsburg, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2001
Very simple to make yet tastes great. Also versatile in nature. It can be used as sandwhich spread, vegetable dip or sauce for polenta etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2002
This is a very flavorful spread. My husband and I both really liked it a lot and will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2004
Very, very good. Instead of using cooked black beans, I used canned black beans; drained and rinsed. Since I used two cans, I doubled everything else. I blended it all in a food processor, my blender couldn't handle it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Verena
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2005
Good dip! I did change it a little bit by adding 1/2 avocado (for little creamier consistency and it is a healthy type of fat), 1-2 Tbsp lime juice, 1 Tbsp chili powder and cut the cumin to 1 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2000
its a taste to aquire. Grownupliked it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
This is such a great recipe! I am not into "spice" so I use mild salsa and just a little bit of hot sauce. This makes a great dip with tortilla chips and it's very creamy. Everyone loves the taste and likes that it's healthy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2003
Does NOT go well with veggies. Good on pita bread, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
5-star in our opinion. I preferred it room temperature to refrigerator-cold, but husband loved it both ways. I thinned this with Frank's RedHot sauce (in place of the water) to a point where it could be served with tortilla chips. Thanks for the recipe! (P.S. 1 1/2 cups beans is 1 can, and 1/2 cup cottage cheese is one of the 4 oz single serve containers, which come in packs of 4, so you can save the other 3 for other recipes because the expiration dates on the individuals is pretty far out until you open them, or you can buy exactly 1 of the cottage cheese & fruit combos, use the cheese, and eat the fruit yourself :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States