Black Bean Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I was looking for a light lunch. I used a can of Bush's Seasoned Black Beans. I first made it according to the recipe but with only half the water. I tasted it and while it was thick, I tasted entirely too much of the cherry tomato taste. So I poured in the rest of the water and the "discarded pieces" from the salsa. It's not my most favorite lunch, but for 2 Weight Watcher's PointsPlus, it's a keeper. (I'm betting it will be more flavorful tomorrow after the flavors all meld together.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
This was really good! I was looking for a quick, healthy lunch, and this was perfect. I changed it up a bit because I didn't have cherry tomatoes on hand, but I bet it would be even better with them. I just used about 3/4 cup medium chunky salsa in place of the tomatoes. I also added garlic and onion powder, and just a pinch of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Love this recipe and my kids do too--BONUS!! I do a bit of customizing...1 cup of salsa-pureed (mild or medium if you like spicy), 3 cans of black beans (I puree 2 cans), 1 can of diced tomotoes-pureed, 2 cans of chicken broth, 1/2 tablespoon of cumin, and 1/2 tablespoon of sugar. This will serve up to 8.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
This recipe makes enough for two servings if supplemented with chips or tortillas. I changed mine a lot, but this served well as inspiration. instead of water, i added the bean juice and salsa into the blender. Also, I used garlic powder, onion powder, and red pepper flakes. after blending it all, i put it in a small sauce pot and let it boil a little. i dont know why it says to dump the salsa guts, thats the good part! also, add sour cream and shredded cheese when serving hot and viola! also, im thinking about simmering it for a while next time so it is thicker and can be used for a bean dip. Maybe adding some ground turkey? or refried beans? Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zafina Fluke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Big hit with the family. Some adjustments: Cooked on stove- started by sauteing some chopped onion then chopped red pepper (about 1/4 cup each) and clove of garlic before adding the water and all other items (left out sugar). Also used a chunky salsa and didn't strain it- left chunks in. Noticed I had some leftover corn so tossed a bit of that in too. Let simmer for probably 30 mins as prepared some cornbread to go with the meal. Used a submersible stick blender to puree bulk of soup. Flexitarian daughter went back for seconds before even having any cornbread! I didn't care for the cherry tomatoes so next time will instead use diced tomato in lieu of them. I'm not very creative in the kitchen to concoct my own recipe, so this was a solid foundation to work with. Thanks Corwynn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
This is a good base recipe but I would do several things differently next time. Instead of only saving a small amount of whole beans I would save half of them to give the soup more texture. I added some hot sauce because I like a little more spice. I will also add 1 green & 1 red pepper for color. I added chopped green onions on top and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
This soup is easy and delicious. I added less water, more garlic and cilantro because I found it a little bland at first. I think this is an extremely versatile recipe, with lots of room for experimenting. It also tastes delicious as a hot soup with corn bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Darien, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
I was surprised at how good this was. I will add fresh cilantro next time, and fresh veggies such as corn and green onion, celery. Was not spicy enough for my taste, so maybe add jalepeno next time as well. I enjoy this recipe! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westminster, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
I am a poor starving college student and the key word is poor and this recipe is an excellent one for us on a budget but are hungry for something that will heat up the mouth a bit (I did not cool it in the fridge and I put in red pepper flakes and a tish of chili powder) thanks!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
The recipe is a great base to build on. I used chicken broth instead of water to add some flavor. I drained the black beans and added a can of diced stewed tomatoes and a can of corn, and an abundance of fresh veggies (red onion, green onion, bell peppers, cilantro, and celery)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States