Black Bean Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2001
The amount of water seems to be excessive. I used 4 cups (vs 7) and it was still watery. I recommend using 3 cups. Additionally, I used 1 tsp of cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2001
fantastic, i doubled the cumin in it, wary that my 8 year old would probably hate it, and was shocked to discover he loved it. a regular in my kitchen from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2002
This is an easy and tasty recipe for a quick black bean soup. I used 6 cups of chicken broth instead of 7 cups of water, I also added a bit of cayenne pepper. Very satisfying, a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2002
This recipe called for too much water--about 4 cups was good. I would also suggest adding some chili powder. Otherwise very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2002
Almost no flavor and way TOO much water. 1/2 the water would be enough with more spices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
Easy to make and very tasty. The cumin really added a lot of flavor. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
I also didn't add all the water. In fact, I added 1 can of beef broth as we like a thick pureed soup. I also garnished it with a dollop of sour cream and chopped green onion. My husband really liked it. Gail
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
This soup is TOO watery for Bean Soup. Start with 2 cups of water and add as needed. Add a bit more cumin and some chili seasoning if you like a fuller flavor. I had to add rice to thicken it up. All in all, this isn't a bad recipe; you just have to make a few adjustments to suit your taste. It is easy with common ingredients which makes it a good beginner recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2003
My whole family loved this recipe with a few minor adjustments. I pureed half the soup to thicken it, I used 2 cans of chicken broth and a 1/4 cup dry sherry, I added a canned chipotle, chopped for a smokey flavor and also added a touch of dried oregano for a flavorable soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINELOVER813

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Porter Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2003
I wish I had read the reviews prior to making this. Way too much water. It was soooo thin when I started to puree it I discarded 2 1/2 cups of liquid and it was still too thin. There are better recipes out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States